Turkey Soup with Dressing Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Delicious, and such a great use for leftovers! I put in some leftover corn casserole and the gravy. The dumplings are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This was a unique and easy way to use turkey leftovers and the rest of the dinner too! I made a few substitutions: we replaced the cranberry jelly with leftover candied yams (pecans and all!), and rolled the dumplings in cornmeal after the egg for a bit of a crunch (it also helped them stick better). When serving, we put the dumpling at the bottom of the bowl and poured the soup on top. I love the versatility of this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
We skipped browning the dumplings and they were still perfect. Great use of leftovers. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I have to tell you that this is a fail proof recipe. Delicious. My neighbors came back for thirds. We froze half of it. It's that good! It's in the arsenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nickolemyers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This is great! Of course, soup is one of those things everyone does different, so I did change some stuff. Mainly, just used more carrot, rutabaga, and peas instead of the green beans and poultry seasoning. I added some leftover gravy to the broth and it was so flavorful I didn't even need to use bouillon, just some salt. Lastly, the stuffing balls are time consuming, but worth it. I thought they might be weird, but not at all. If you take a teaspoon and squish the stuffing into it against the side of the bowl, it's easier and quicker to make them nice and smooth so they are easier to brown, and stay together better. Oh, and I didn't find that the can of cranberry added much to it, either way. Would probly skip that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Alot of work. My family was not overly impressed. I think I would cut back on the poultry seasoning. The Suffing balls were tasty but got a little mushy when put into the soup. I am just not sure we would do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina  Diedel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Wonderful! Couple of things I did different -No cranberry - I have one cranberry hater and one turnip hater so I omitted those :) -and I used whole egg with the stuffing mix (misread the recipe there) and then instead of using the skillet - I baked the stuffing dumplings with a bit of spray. Thanks for a VERY original idea - everyone raved :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I made this today. Very good. I used canned chicken broth with leftover turkey and carrots. Added the dressing dumplings at the end and had it made in less than 30 minutes. Very tasty....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was such a fun idea I had to try it. Soup turned out yummy, only change I made was to add leftover gravy instead of cranberry sauce. The stuffing dumplings were really great, my hubby and kids loved them too. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Winters, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Fantastic!! This is how it's supposed to be done, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States