Turkey Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
These were really terrific and easy. I added a tablespoon of garlic and a little more onion to the meat while browning, and used celery salt. I added a little more BBQ to the mix, used Bob Evans Wildfire Sauce, which is sweet and smokey. Great weeknight meal, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
My husband is iffy about "healthier substitutes" in "old classics" but he loved these easy Sloppy Joes. And they tasted very "traditional" so picky eaters should be happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I really enjoyed this. I didn't have celery seed but added some dried basil instead. I liked that it had no added sugar and you can use low sugar ketchup & BBQ sauce to cut more calories. I also loved how quick it was. I highly recommend this recipe, especially if you are watching calories. Edited to ask: Is the nutritional information including the wheat buns?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Surprisingly, the whole family enjoyed this recipe, including a very picky husband and 7 year old. Modifications include sauteing onion and 2 tsp of garlic in olive oil before adding ground turkey (used ground thigh over breast). Also added additional 1tbsp of brown sugar, 1/4c of ketchup (regular heinz) and additional 1 tsp of bbq sauce. Also used spicy brown mustard, apple cidar vinegar but left out celery seeds. Super easy. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Hillsdale, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Will never make Sloppy Joe's from a can again; this was super easy. Added a tablespoon of horseradish to the mix, added a little pep. Could probably try with a little wasabi powder, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Excellent! Only change I made was to add a little extra ketchup and mustard and a bit of garlic powder. Will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I found that the recipe as-is was a little bland. I added about 3 tablespoons of tomato paste and it made a world of difference. Good springboard recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This recipe was a huge hit with my picky eaters. I thought it tasted just like Sloppy Joes made with ground beef. I used Hunt's Ketchup regular with salt, Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce, and spicy mustard. I didn't measure anything (I eyeball it), but added extra BBQ sauce and ketchup. I had a little extra meat than what the recipe calls for. Looking for a kid friendly meal -- this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This recipe wasn't quite what I was expecting. I've made sloppy joes in the past & these ingredients didn't taste much like it. While it was a likeable enough recipe (it tasted fine), it didn't taste like sloppy joes to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cemetery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
My family gobbled this up. SInce my turkey comes in 1-1/4 pound packs, I added a little extra of each ingredient. The recipe is very forgiving - like it a little sweeter? Add more catsup. More tangy? Add more vinegar. It's a keeper. Perfect blend of sweet and savory. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States