Turkey Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I really enjoyed this. I didn't have celery seed but added some dried basil instead. I liked that it had no added sugar and you can use low sugar ketchup & BBQ sauce to cut more calories. I also loved how quick it was. I highly recommend this recipe, especially if you are watching calories. Edited to ask: Is the nutritional information including the wheat buns?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
My husband is iffy about "healthier substitutes" in "old classics" but he loved these easy Sloppy Joes. And they tasted very "traditional" so picky eaters should be happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Excellent! Only change I made was to add a little extra ketchup and mustard and a bit of garlic powder. Will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This recipe wasn't quite what I was expecting. I've made sloppy joes in the past & these ingredients didn't taste much like it. While it was a likeable enough recipe (it tasted fine), it didn't taste like sloppy joes to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cemetery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
A great recipe! It wasn't quite saucy enough for us, so I added (by eyeball) a little more of each of the liquid ingredients, and a little more seasoning, garlic powder, etc. Other than that, wonderful base recipe, will keep in my collection...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crescent City, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Really Good! I added chopped green peppers (just because I had them around), and used regular ketchup because that's what I had. My bf and I really enjoyed the flavor of these sloppy joes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberJoi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This version shows you can have a healthy alternative to an old standby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsCoyote

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Will never make Sloppy Joe's from a can again; this was super easy. Added a tablespoon of horseradish to the mix, added a little pep. Could probably try with a little wasabi powder, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
These were really terrific and easy. I added a tablespoon of garlic and a little more onion to the meat while browning, and used celery salt. I added a little more BBQ to the mix, used Bob Evans Wildfire Sauce, which is sweet and smokey. Great weeknight meal, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Photo by SLJ6
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Family enjoyed this and actually didnt mind that it was turkey vs. beef. I used some McCormicks Grillmates BBQ seasoning as well when I was browning the meat. I also added 1/2 diced green pepper. Served on whole wheat rolls. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States