Turkey Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
These were the best sloppy joes we've had in awhile! The spices added a nice kick to the normal flavor of a sloppy joe and we've added this recipe to our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
A nice change of pace from the usual beef sloppy joe. These have a nice little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
What a great recipe! My husband is not a Real Turkey fan but thought these flavors did a great job of masking the turkey. This is on our bi-weekly menu for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Makes a very good sloppy joe, and this ground turkey version will hold its own against ones made with beef. The 5 minutes for cooking the turkey and veggies per the recipe was more like 10 minutes for us. Otherwise, the recipe is easy to follow and quick to make. We would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Photo by bianchiveloce
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I sauteed a medium chopped red onion in a tbs of extra virgin olive oil then added in 3 cloves of minced garlic, 1 tsp of ground ginger, a 1/4 tsp of dried cayenne pepper and stirred until fragrant. Next, added the ground turkey meat stirring until the meat was no longer pink and in small pieces. Then added 8 oz of no-salt added tomato sauce along with a 1/4 cup of hoisin sauce and cooked until all was thickened. After taking the pan off the heat, I added fresh chopped cilantro leaves and 2 tbs of lemon juice. Served as open faced sandwiches with freshly grated extra sharp cheddar cheese as a topping. My Turkey Sloppy Joes was a fantastic meal which earned me the prized golden Stamp of Approval (SOA) from Mi Gato Loco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bianchiveloce

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I'm always at a loss what to do with ground turkey and these were a great solution. They were much more spicy than I would have imagined although I might have been a bit too generous with the pepper flakes. My husband made a face when I said I was using turkey instead of beef for sloppy joes, but he really liked them. I will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Medart
Home Town: Park Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: East Troy, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
What did I do different? Not much... for the veggies, I just added a whole onion, a whole green pepper and a whole medium tomato, a pinch of minced garlic and a tiny amount more of red pepper flakes.... ABSOLUTE YUM! My 15 year old said, and I quote.... "Please forgive my language but this is bomb as hell!" lol Served it with fresh corn on the cob sprinkled with low salt creole seasoning... ALRIGHT for quick finger foods!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Thank you for your reviews, I was so glad after I saw that people really liked my food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
We made a few minor changes due to lack of ingredients but this came out a winner all the same. The leftovers could actually be used for a funky shepherd's pie base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This was great! We had to cut the recipe in half since there was just two of us and we probably shouldn't of cut the sauce in half cause it was a tiny bit dry. We also substituted the red pepper flakes, mustard and celery seeds for brown sugar, minced garlic, and paprika, because we wanted a sweeter, smokier taste, and it was amazing! Sweet, tangy, and very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States