Turkey Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I made this tonight with only one exception - used cauliflower instead of potatoes to make it a little healthier. Boiled cauliflower and garlic, added horseradish and cheese when mashing and it was so good with this recipe. My husband loves shepherd pie, but we've been trying to eat better. Thank you very much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
good, basic recipe. I added s. cream to my potatoes to make them creamier. Also added different veggies~ squash, peas, carrots. Also added worstchire (sp?) & garlic. Added chicken broth (seemed too dry without) before adding the flour to make the "gravy". I put cheese on top of my potatoes & put them under the broiler for the last 5 minutes of cooking. Great way to make a "comfort food" healthy (somewhat)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
YUM! Easy to prepare, even for a novice like me. Like so many others I added worcestershire sauce, xtra garlic and some veggies - recipe was easy to play around with. I added a bit of horseradish, rosemary and parmesan to the mashed potatoes to give them a little kick up the arse, and topped with cheese. Hurrah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I omitted the bouillon bc I didn't have it and didn't drain the meat - added about 2 tbsp of chicken broth to that. It was perfect! My husband is from Ireland and loved it - it's really hard to get him to try any red meat substitutions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was wonderful with a few additions: added 1/2 cup of chicken broth to carrot/turkey/onion mixture and let it cook off just a little before putting in the oven to retain moisture, but still kept bouillon in too; Chopped carrots and sauteed with the onions at the beginning so they would soften; Added canned peas and used fresh mushrooms; Roasted 4 cloves of garlic by drizzling with olive oil, placing in foil and putting in the oven until cooked through. Then mashed cloves in the mashed potatoes; Added sour cream, about 1/3 of a cup, to the mashed potatoes; and Added a little garlic powder to mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUL567

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
Too much potato vs. meat. I add Worcestershire sauce to the meat mix and shredded cheese melted over the potato. It was very tasty and great for a raining day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This was a great recipe! We made turkey gravy to go with it since it looked a little dry, and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
I enjoyed this recipe. I made some minor adjustments: used fresh mushrooms, dried parsley and added some extra thyme and a few extra sprinkles of chicken bouillon powder. I also added some green pepper. I sauteed the carrots and peppers with the onion to get them tender. Red skins are the best for mashing. Spinkled some sweet paprika on top. Otherwise, I kept the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
My family thought this recipe was wonderful! We decided to add a bit of sour cream to it and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This was really good. I like that I had everything on hand to make this and it was healthy (not low calorie but healthy) and my family really liked it. I didn't use the chicken bouillon, instead I used worchester sauce and I grated some Asiago cheese on top of the potatos for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States