Turkey Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Completely fantastic recipe! I added some garlic cloves in with the potatoes so that they were nice and mellow when I mashed them. I also added a little sour cream and parmesan to the mashed potatoes. I also added the recommended Worchester sauce to the meat. Other than that I left everything the same in the recipe. Very very tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
We really liked this. After reading the other reviews I wish I would have added some worchestire sauce to spice it up a bit but it was still good. I will make it again. This served 3 adults and we all had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Thank you for listing this. I basically looked at this recipe to see how long it should be baked. My ingredients were quite a bit different because I wanted to make a shepherds pie to use up left overs from Thanksgiving dinner. I figured cooking times shouldn't be too different though. I'll list the ingredients so people have ideas on what they could throw in their own. I used the homemade whole wheat stuffing for a bottom crust, I just pushed it all down into the bottom. Then I put a little shredded cheddar on top of it. Next I put shredded white turkey meat. On top of that I used the rest of our homemade turkey gravy. Then I put most of the left over broccoli casserole. On top of that more shredded cheddar cheese. The final layer were the homemade mashed potatoes. I then sprinkled more cheese on top of the potatoes. I assembled in a Pampered Chef deep dish stone pie plate. It tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wilmasteca
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This was a good recipe. I did add a slug of brandy. I think next time I will not drain the turkey meat annd use a little more flour to make more of a gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilmasteca

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Instead of using just potatoes I used half potato half cauliflower. Next time I will also add a layer of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
My kids liked it and even said I could make it again. That's high praise. I added about 2 cups of frozen mixed vegetables, about 2/3 cup of light sour cream, and about 2 tsp of worcestershire sauce to the turkey mixture, and about 1 cup of shredded cheddar to the top. I also used prepared, instant mashed potatoes because that's all I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This recipe was so good. As previous reviews advised, I added 2TB of worsteshire. I also added a handful of frozen peas, a couple dashes of Tabassco, and a 1/4tsp oregano, and alot more garlic. Also used fresh button mushrooms. I sprinked paprika and fresh parsely on the top. This was the best Sheperd's Pie I've had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Yum! This was a big hit. I stayed true to the recipe, but I did add a bit of oregano and basil. I also added a bit of cheese which was optional in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Pera Reznik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I made this tonight with only one exception - used cauliflower instead of potatoes to make it a little healthier. Boiled cauliflower and garlic, added horseradish and cheese when mashing and it was so good with this recipe. My husband loves shepherd pie, but we've been trying to eat better. Thank you very much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I omitted the bouillon bc I didn't have it and didn't drain the meat - added about 2 tbsp of chicken broth to that. It was perfect! My husband is from Ireland and loved it - it's really hard to get him to try any red meat substitutions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Firehouse Beef Stew & Shepherd's Pie

Watch a firehouse cook prepare beef stew and shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States