Turkey Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Thank you for listing this. I basically looked at this recipe to see how long it should be baked. My ingredients were quite a bit different because I wanted to make a shepherds pie to use up left overs from Thanksgiving dinner. I figured cooking times shouldn't be too different though. I'll list the ingredients so people have ideas on what they could throw in their own. I used the homemade whole wheat stuffing for a bottom crust, I just pushed it all down into the bottom. Then I put a little shredded cheddar on top of it. Next I put shredded white turkey meat. On top of that I used the rest of our homemade turkey gravy. Then I put most of the left over broccoli casserole. On top of that more shredded cheddar cheese. The final layer were the homemade mashed potatoes. I then sprinkled more cheese on top of the potatoes. I assembled in a Pampered Chef deep dish stone pie plate. It tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wilmasteca
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This was a good recipe. I did add a slug of brandy. I think next time I will not drain the turkey meat annd use a little more flour to make more of a gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilmasteca

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Instead of using just potatoes I used half potato half cauliflower. Next time I will also add a layer of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
My kids liked it and even said I could make it again. That's high praise. I added about 2 cups of frozen mixed vegetables, about 2/3 cup of light sour cream, and about 2 tsp of worcestershire sauce to the turkey mixture, and about 1 cup of shredded cheddar to the top. I also used prepared, instant mashed potatoes because that's all I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This recipe was so good. As previous reviews advised, I added 2TB of worsteshire. I also added a handful of frozen peas, a couple dashes of Tabassco, and a 1/4tsp oregano, and alot more garlic. Also used fresh button mushrooms. I sprinked paprika and fresh parsely on the top. This was the best Sheperd's Pie I've had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Yum! This was a big hit. I stayed true to the recipe, but I did add a bit of oregano and basil. I also added a bit of cheese which was optional in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeLee222

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I made this tonight with only one exception - used cauliflower instead of potatoes to make it a little healthier. Boiled cauliflower and garlic, added horseradish and cheese when mashing and it was so good with this recipe. My husband loves shepherd pie, but we've been trying to eat better. Thank you very much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I omitted the bouillon bc I didn't have it and didn't drain the meat - added about 2 tbsp of chicken broth to that. It was perfect! My husband is from Ireland and loved it - it's really hard to get him to try any red meat substitutions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
My fiance loves Shepherd's pie and really enjoyed this version. After reading other reviews, I added about 1 tbls. of Worcestershire sauce and a packet of Lipton Onion Soup Mix. I also did not add the flour and it was not too dry or runny. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
My whole family loved this recipe. The only problem was that the serving size is way off. The 10 servings stated were perfect for my family of four which includes two teenagers and a 6'1" husband. You would hard pressed to serve 10 people with this recipe. The only changes I made were to add extra garlic and to sprinkle grated cheese on top of the mash potatoes. Delicious! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States