Turkey Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
This was excellent! We changed a little to suit our tastes. Used about 6 medium Idaho potatoes, added milk and salted butter to taste until it was thick and creamy. For the meat mixture, we put in 2 carrots, 2 celery ribs, no mushrooms (hubby won't touch em), 1 tsp dried parsley, and about 3 cloves of garlic. Everything else was the same for ingredients. When cooking we also didn't drain the turkey meat once it was cooked because I was afraid of the layer becoming dry. We also covered the potato in a layer of a shredded blend of 4 italian cheeses, and baked for only 20 minutes. Came out DELICIOUS!! We'll definitely repeat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I browned the ground turkey breast meat in olive oil and seasoning; salt, dried parsely and ground thyme. Add some water and Chicken Better than Broth (or chicken bouillion). Dice carrots, celery and fresh corn and boiled in water with chicken bouillion until fork tenderthen drain and added it to meat mixture. I used pearl onions which I blanched and shocked in ice water to remove the skins then dice-- adding half to the meat mixture then carmelizing the other half in a saute' pan until brown and add to the mashed potatoes. Sautee fresh,sliced mushrooms; then sautee a diced green pepper. Next, sautee minced, fresh garlic adding each sautee batch to the meat mixture. Prepare roux using 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup flour, stirring several minutes. I added a little water then *Chicken Better than Broth and sour cream, stirring until fully incorporated, then add to the meat & vegetable mixture stirring well then put in a greased rectangle pan, put the potato/carmelized onion mixture on top with grated cheddar cheese. After dinner, My daughter in law said it was the best shepherd's pie she had ever had and she wanted the recipe. It would be good with some nice petite green beans, I will try next time! These techniques bring out the flavor in the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Only change I made was I added crispy chopped bacon and some shredded cheese to the topping and did not drain the meat mixture... Kept the whole dish nice and juicy!!!! Oh and sour cream to the mashed potatoes! This was absolutely AMAZING!!!!!!! Don't think I will make shephards pie with ground beef again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
added peas and corn to this. Went over well although next time will whip potatoes for prettier presentation. good base- lots of room to improvise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gracebew_u
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
What a wonderful recipe and so adaptable. I think the broth and Worcestershire sauce should be a permanent addition to the recipe since so many recommend it. I did the same and it turned out great - it also masks the turkey flavor and makes it a darker color so it's better (both psychologically and for health reasons) for people who prefer beef. Also, I didn't have fresh veggies on hand so I used 1.5 12oz bags of frozen mixed veggies AFTER browning the meat (corn, green beans, peas @ carrots). My husband said he couldn't believe they were frozen veggies! Makes the recipe even easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Tasted great! It looked a little dry but didn't taste dry. Maybe next time I'll add some sour cream to the potatoes. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This was soooo good! The only change I made was using mashed sweet potatoes instead of white (hubby loves sweet potatoes). Sweet potatoes really went well with all the other ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
It was Ok but I will not be making this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
My fiance and I loved this! I did make some changes. I used leftover turkey from Christmas and topped it with leftover mashed potatoes too. I used fresh mushrooms because I dont like canned. I ran out of parsley so I added some veggie/potatoe seasoning. I also doubled garlic and topped with a little bit of cheese. I will definately use this again when I have leftover turkey. Oh and I added a little bit of red/green pepper and a little bit of zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Since I'm not eating potatoes I subbed-out with sweet potatoes (NOT yams)& cauliflower. Pretty much followed the rest of the recipe, though I did use poultry seasoning. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Cross

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Firehouse Beef Stew & Shepherd's Pie

Watch a firehouse cook prepare beef stew and shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States