Turkey Sausage Breakfast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was a good dish. I agree with other reviewers that it only needed 50 minutes at 350. I only gave it 4 stars, however, I feel with a few additions it would be a 5 star recipe. I think that it needs at least 5 eggs, and next time I would add some mushrooms, and maybe use frozen hash browns O'Brien for some additional flavors and color, as well as salt and pepper. The dish smelled absolutely AMAZING when it was cooking and my sister loved it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheMegster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mercerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I added about half of a chopped green pepper but kept all the other ingredients the same. I used a foil pan so the 60 minute bake time was just right. This is a great lighter breakfast casserole recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
My husband loved this. I also used 10 eggs and added green pepper and mushrooms. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waianae, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Awesome! Will make again and again. Always a huge hit! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4pinksand1blue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Good basic breakfast casserole. Next time, I would brown the Hash Browns a bit in a skillet before adding them to the mix as this would add more texture and taste to the dish. As other mentioned, I would also add Green/Red Peppers to it as well. My changes: I used 10 eggs, 3/4 Cup Milk and 1 1/2 Cups Cheese. Then baked at 350 in Convention Oven and it was done in about 35 minutes to golden brown. It easily fed 6 with some leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This turned out great for a baby shower brunch I hosted for 12 women. First I layered the bottom of the pan with frozen hash browns that I defrosted in the fridge overnight (not sure if that step was necessary though). Then I cut ham steak in cubes that I bought from costco and layered that over the hash browns. I beat 9 eggs and 9 egg whites, 1 cup cheddar, 3 green onions, 1/2 cup milk with garlic salt, fresh ground pepper and italian seasoning. A HUGE CROWD PLEASER, easy and inexpensive way to feed a larger group for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I used regular sausage and egg beaters; tasted great. I might try sauteing some onions instead of using green onions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I don't think I've ever given a recipe one star, but this is the first one. This was very dry. The baking time could easily be cut in half. The recipe, as written, was only about half an inch deep. It barely covered the bottom of my 9 x 13 pan. If you're looking for an egg casserole that will get rave reviews, try Egg and Sausage Casserole from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Used 6 eggs and 2/3 cup milk; everything else in the recipe was the same. Great dish! My friends and I really enjoyed it. I also used the 50-min cook time based on comments from others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I would have given this a three, but my husband said four, and as I see potential, I'll round up. But this was definitely lacking in flavor for me, and we even used real sausage! I didn't make too many changes but here's what I did: used pork sausage as store didn't have ground turkey sausage. Used O'briens shredded hash browns and, as they didn't have a smaller package, had to guess at half to get to the 16oz. I used egg beaters, and added an extra "egg." I used the written amount of cheese and milk. I used 1/2 a regular onion and cooked it with the sausage. I layerd the hashbrown on the bottom and with some salt and pepper, attempted to "crisp" them before topping with the mixture. It was missing something. We agree it needed more hashbrown and more egg. However, the hashbrowns were the lacking flavor part, so we might try tator tots next time. I can't see how mixing them in would help, and enjoyed the layering. (Usually I go the other way with recipes.) It was a good base, and we will probably make again, but differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States