Turkey Ragu with Fontina and Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I don't add reviews much, even though I read them lots! But this one was really special. Absolutely loved it. I also don't like it when people change up the recipe and review it, but I had to use what was available so by necessity made some changes. I added diced green peppers in with the onion saute at beginning. I also used penne pasta in cabinet instead of macaroni. I do not like lots of tomato sauce so this was just the perfect cheesy, meaty blend. Great job. Now I need to figure out a way to make a healthier version . . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
A great, simple recipe. It was delicious. Even the little kids liked it. This one is a keeper. I did substitute crushed tomatoes for whole peeled tomatoes because that is what I had available. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dizfan
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Made this tonight, And it went over well with the kids, one of whom is extremely picky eater. I didn't have Fontina cheese, so I subbed mozzarella, augmented with a couple of slices of swiss and Colby jack that I chopped up, since it was all I had in the fridge. I also find that ground turkey tends to be bland, so I kicked up the Italian spices, and sprinkled on some red pepper flakes, which added a tiny but of heat. Per another reviewers suggestion, I baked it for 20minutes in (two) casserole dishes covered with foil, and then 5 more minutes after sprinkling with fresh parmesan. This made more than I anticipated, so I recommend cutting the recipe in half if you're only cooking for two and don't want a ton of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Family loved this. A relatively quick meal, with no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Made as noted except didn't have fontina cheese and used a Mexican cheddar mixture. Awesome!!! Definite keeper!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This is one of the best pasta dishes I've done. My family loves it. I know it's hard to find the fontina cheese but it is well worth it. I've dont it both ways, with and without it and love it more with it. I can only speak for myself cause I did see there are bad review about it, but I'm sure its because they didn't do it as instructed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleban
Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Pretty good for ground turkey! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I made only one adjustment in this sauce--instead of using three cloves plain garlic, I used a whole bulb roasted garlic. I did go easy on the salt but that's really up to taste, not a recipe issue. The kids know this as "goulash" as I make a version of it once a month. This recipe was quite good, the fontina was a nice touch. Honestly there were no leftovers, the boys ate every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
My husband LOVED this! I used ground chicken (it was on sale) and whole wheat pasta. I didn't have fontina so I used mozzarella. Would be great with some red pepper flakes for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This recipe caught my eye because I am always looking for recipes to use ground turkey and I love Fontina! This was delicious! My son said it was the best dinner ever. It's going into the regular rotation. I cooked the ground turkey , onion and garlic all together at once, as I didn't see the reason for cooking the onions for 10 minutes first. I added some Emeril's Essence, pepper and Worcestershire sauce to the meat while cooking. I used the diced tomatoes (Italian Seasoned, 14-1/2 ounces) , but instead of the crushed tomatoes I used a 26 ounce jar of Prego heart smart pasta sauce. I added a little red wine to the sauce and used fresh parsley instead of the dried.I added a pinch of red pepper flakes for some zip. I used large elbow macaroni for the noodles. I followed the directions the rest of the way. I don't see the need for baking it in the oven, like some others did-it was perfect on top of the stove. Creamy, cheesy, tasty and yummy! The bonus is that it's very easy and comes together quickly. Thanks for a keeper recipe! Oh, and I had leftovers for lunch and that was great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badkitty1116

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States