Turkey Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This is a great base recipe for leftover turkey. I layered leftover stuffing with the turkey and mixed some of the juice from the canned beans to the soup to thin it out a bit. I didn't add the onion as my husband isn't a big onion eater. I also used a low sodium soup or will also try a low fat soup. I didn't use the cheese cubes but just sprinkled shredded cheese on top of the potatoes about 15 minutes before it was finished cooking. We both enjoyed it very much and will definitely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by madputter1
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This recipe was great - very filling. I omitted the green beans & used corn. Also added some leftover turkey gravy. I used 2 cups of shredded colby in the mashed potatoes & my top layer on potatoes was durkee onions. The crispy top gave it that extra touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This casserole is fabulous! I made a few changes, I only chopped about 1/4 of a cup of onion instead of a whole one and added mushrooms and 3 cloves of garlic and followed the advice of another poster and sauteed them altogether prior to adding to the dish. I also added about 3/4 of a container of reduced fat sour cream to the potatoes to make them smoother. Next time I will not add the cubes of cheese into the potatoes, there was a bit too much cheese for us and we love cheese. 8oz of shredded cheese is plenty! Lastly, I did not use green beans. I used a 15oz can of veg-all mixed veggies and LOVED it! I think the variety in veggies is better than just green beans. It reminded me of a turkey shepherds pie and the kids loved this one as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae Hale

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
decent recipe, just added more seasoning to taste. quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DA DUTCHESS

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I'm giving this 4 stars because it was a good way to use Thanksgiving leftovers but the flavor was just okay. The mushroom soup just didn't go with the rest of the flavors. Maybe it would have been better with cream of chicken. My favorite part was the cheesy mashed potatoes. YUM! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesa Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I was looking for a recipe to use up all of my Thanksgiving leftovers. I had a couple of cups of homemade mashed potatoes, 2 turkey drumsticks, 2 turkey wings, and about 1 & 1/2 cups of carrots and turnips, mashed together. I saw that other reviewers had added their own veggies to their casseroles, with good results, so I made mine with the ingredients above. Also, like a previous reviewer suggested, I lightly sauteed the onion before adding it to the baking dish. The only other alteration that I did was that I needed to use 2 cans of the cream of mushroom soup. It came out really well! I never make casseroles, because I don't generally like them, but this was a hit for both me and the rest of the family. I will definately make this again next T-Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Priscilla Hayes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This was a great recipe for our Thanksgiving leftovers. I left out the onion and used seasoned butter corn and fresh chopped green beans. I had cream of potato soup on hand and added some half & half to thin it out. With the shredded cheese I added some taco seasoning and used cream cheese in the mashed potatoes! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
My husband and I loved this recipe so much, we made it two days in a row...It gave us leftovers to take to work and it was delicious (and we had a LOT Of turkey left over). The second day, we added carrots and gravy because I didn't have beans or cream soup. Oh, and we tossed in stuffing, too, and used swiss instead of cheddar. This is definitely going on favorite meals rotation. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahwah, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
My family loved this casserole. I did make some changes--I found that I was out of onions and did not use them at all. I thinned the soup with some milk to make it spread more evenly. I decreased the amount of cheese, only sprinkled less than 1/2 cup shredded cheese on the top of the potatoes and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Parkville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Churchville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Great way to use up the leftovers from Thanksgiving. I didn't measure the ingredients. Shredded the turkey until the bottom of the dish was about covered. Then layered green bean casserole that was left over. A layer of shredded cheese then the layer of mashed potatoes (mixed in some shredded cheese in the potatoes)and sprinkled a little more cheese on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancySohalski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States