Turkey Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This recipe is a great idea to use leftovers. It feeds an army! I sauteed the onions in butter and garlic before hand and added seasoning to every layer (salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, etc). I also added a can of mushrooms. I didn't use cubed cheese, it seemed too fattening, so I used a package of low fat shredded cheddar cheese. I finished it off with paprika on of the potatoes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Super easy and delicious! I used leftover gravy instead of cream of chicken and it was great. We will be having this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Gentry

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I rated this high because of the delicious taste, so easy, and the only ingredients used that were not leftovers were the onions, soup, and cheese- I always have that on hand,too. I did improvised with what leftovers I had, and after tasting, I'll make another change. I followed the recipe except I substitued the green beans with creamed corn- omitted the cheese cubes - added a bit of milk to my mashed potatoes before spreading on the top. This made the m.potatoes spread better. I had leftover gravy, so I poured the heated gravy over the casserole servings on the plate. This gave a richer and moist taste. Now, what I would do different: the onions were too crunchy and strong, I would saute them before adding them to the casserole. But this is definitely a keeper, in fact, my husband raved about it. That's a huge compliment since he's an excellent cook himself. Thank Peggikaye!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Made exactly as recipe states. It was a little bland for my taste. I guess next time I need to spice my mashed potatoes up more. It is similar to a shepherd's pie. I would recommend making it, though. Definitely a good starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
YUM! My whole family loved this. I layered prepared wild rice stuffing mix on bottom, turkey on top (left over from the great crockpot turkey breast recipe on this site), then sauteed mushrooms, onion and celery on top of that, canned green beans next, then one can Golden Mushroom, one can 98% fat free Cream of mushroom soup, both mixed together with some leftover turkey broth, soy sauce and pepper, then topped it all with some homemade mashed potatos (made with fat free evaporated milk) and finally, a sprinkling of 2% shredded cheddar. If making it from Thanksgiving leftovers, I would have most of these ingredients already prepared. Everyone had seconds and a few of us had thirds.... Really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This is an outstanding dish!I subbed frozen corn and peas for the green beans but left everything in the recipe as is.Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Jeez. How simple and how awesome. Used Hungry man's instant potatoes and grilled chicken shredded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I used cream of chicken soup and sauteed the onions and turkey very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This was really good. I used chicken instead of turkey and seasoned it well with salt, pepper, and garlic salt. I also added milk to the soup per other suggestions, and then mixed the soup with the green beans instead of pouring over the top. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This is the best use of Thanksgiving Turkey left overs ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States