Turkey Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I was looking for a recipe to use up all of my Thanksgiving leftovers. I had a couple of cups of homemade mashed potatoes, 2 turkey drumsticks, 2 turkey wings, and about 1 & 1/2 cups of carrots and turnips, mashed together. I saw that other reviewers had added their own veggies to their casseroles, with good results, so I made mine with the ingredients above. Also, like a previous reviewer suggested, I lightly sauteed the onion before adding it to the baking dish. The only other alteration that I did was that I needed to use 2 cans of the cream of mushroom soup. It came out really well! I never make casseroles, because I don't generally like them, but this was a hit for both me and the rest of the family. I will definately make this again next T-Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This was a great recipe for our Thanksgiving leftovers. I left out the onion and used seasoned butter corn and fresh chopped green beans. I had cream of potato soup on hand and added some half & half to thin it out. With the shredded cheese I added some taco seasoning and used cream cheese in the mashed potatoes! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
My husband and I loved this recipe so much, we made it two days in a row...It gave us leftovers to take to work and it was delicious (and we had a LOT Of turkey left over). The second day, we added carrots and gravy because I didn't have beans or cream soup. Oh, and we tossed in stuffing, too, and used swiss instead of cheddar. This is definitely going on favorite meals rotation. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahwah, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
My family loved this casserole. I did make some changes--I found that I was out of onions and did not use them at all. I thinned the soup with some milk to make it spread more evenly. I decreased the amount of cheese, only sprinkled less than 1/2 cup shredded cheese on the top of the potatoes and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Parkville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Churchville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Great way to use up the leftovers from Thanksgiving. I didn't measure the ingredients. Shredded the turkey until the bottom of the dish was about covered. Then layered green bean casserole that was left over. A layer of shredded cheese then the layer of mashed potatoes (mixed in some shredded cheese in the potatoes)and sprinkled a little more cheese on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancySohalski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was really good! Adjusted ingredients a bit... added 1 1/2 can sliced green beens, and a bit more turkey, which I just chopped finely as we dont have a food processor. Added TWO cans of soup.. one cream of chicken, and one cream of mushroom (we were out of milk, so used straight). Added a few cloves of finely minced garlic to the potatoes, as well as 2 small cans sliced mushrooms. Shredded all the cheese rather than cube part of it. Baked 35 min, then added a pack of those pop container bisquits to the top. Baked about 10 minutes more, was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
pretty good! i read other reviews; i put some dressing on the bottom and halved the potatoes to control the carbs; used less cheese. i couldn't taste any cheese so i'll increase it next time. used instant potatoes since the fresh were all gone. added the french fried onions on top, very nice touch. it was nice to have the sage and thyme flavors from the dressing. i heated up some gravy too. good one for the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Good stick to your ribs, comfort food. I subbed Durkee fried onions on top of the potatoes for the raw onions and used only shredded cheese. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Pretty good way to use the leftovers. As like others, I used my green bean casserole leftovers in lieu of beans and onions, but I also added a can of soup and a small can of musrooms, everything else as per this recipe. It was enjoyed by all. Will definately make again with whatever leftovers are around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I did change it a little also. My family won't eat mushrooms,so I used cream of chicken soup.I also use mozzarella cheese since my daughter and I get migraines from cheddar cheese.I do the same for tettrazeini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belding, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orleans, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States