Turkey Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
You know it's good when you are thinking about a second helping and you are not even halfway through your first one yet. Our entire family loved this recipe. We substituted left-over mashed potatoes for cubes potatoes since that was all we had on hand. It was still delicious. This will now be a part of our thanksgiving tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Great Recipe!! I made a few changes to the recipe. I added 1 cup of milk and 4 tablespoons of flour to the Turkey mixture. It turned out fabulous! Very creamy, not dry at all. My husband said this one was a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caravanmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
WOW! This was a wonderful recipe to make with our thanksgiving leftovers, something I am always looking for following the holiday. My daughter, home from college, simply loves pot pies, and we made this together. We used my mother's easy pie crust recipe (baking the bottom crust first for about 7 minutes as others recommended), used a cup of leftover turkey gravy with a cup of water, fresh thyme instead of the oregano, and Yukon Gold potatoes. I will certainly keep this recipe for future use, and I would bet my daughter will as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Easily 5 stars. Here's why this is the perfect recipe for leftover Thanksgiving turkey: Use the No-Fail Pie Crust 1 recipe from this site to make your pumpkin pie. The recipe yields 3 crusts, so you'll have the perfect amount left over. Trust me, homemade is a thousand times better than store-bought (and really easy to make). Using the leftover crust, roll out the bottom and pre-bake for about 7 minutes, letting cool while the vegetables are cooking and the turkey/milk/flour combo is heating. Double the water/bouillon for a thicker gravy (much of the liquid will boil away while the veggies/potatoes are cooking). I added some poultry seasoning to enhance the flavor, and fresh sliced mushrooms. Poured atop the cooled pie crust, and added the 3rd (and final) crust as a top layer, making slits to let out the steam. The end result? Unbelievably good. I've tried several of the pot pie recipes on allrecipes.com and this is by far the best. Great flavor, easy to make - this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
First ever pot pie completely from scratch and the family loved it. I doubled the butter, flour and milk and baked the crust a little prior to filling as per the other suggestions. Added salt to taste. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Great taste, easy recipe! Substituted puff pastry for pie crust and it tasted great! Also used chicken broth instead of bouillon. Perfect to use up Thanksgiving Day turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Great recipe... just what I was looking for. This was a last minute decision so I had to use what I had on hand. I didn't have carrots, so I used peas and corn. I used my left-over gravy from thanksgiving and a little turkey spice rub I had. It turned out wonderful!!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
this was delicious I used my left over gravy and a can of chicken broth in place of the bouillon and I also used cream in place of milk and left over mashed potatoes in place regular all in all it was a very big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
It sounded good at a first scan, but as were putting it together, I saw that it called for Parsley (Lots) and Oregano. I hemmed and hawed on this, but finally followed the recipe, assuming that the author had some idea of what they were doing, I was wrong, the Oregano and Parsley have no place in a turky pot pie and the only flavors that could be discerned was these wrong ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I love this receipe for my leftover chicken or turkey, I use a bag of frozen vegies and leave out the potatoes because I like to serve it with mashed potatoes but that's just my preference it's a keeper for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bamsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States