Turkey Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Fantastic! I made a double recipe and still had no leftovers. My only changes: pre-bake the bottom crust for 5-10 minutes so that it doesn't come out soggy, added rosemary and sage. A great version is to make a herb and cheese piecrust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
306 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Made a lot of changes with this recipe. Used the veggies, spices and turkey as written, but changed the sauce and crust. For the potaotes, I cubed and microwaved for about 8 minutes to soften. For the sauce, started with a jar of Boston Market turkey gravy and to this added a package of Knorr roasted turkey gravy mix and 2 cups of water. Actually still had to use a little cornstarch to thicken. Poured this into a casserole dish and put this into a 400 degree oven till bubbly. Once bubbly, I took it out and place a sheet of puff pastry over the top and baked an additional 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
One of the best things about Thanksgiving is that I get to make this turkey pot pie afterwards! This is a great recipe I have made over and over again. I have also put the filling into a 9x13 dish and put refrigerated buscuit dough over the top for a change-you can pretty much follow the bake time off the biscuit wrapper for this. This dish is always a hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I just made this pot pie today, and I am definitely saving this recipe! In fact, I already froze all of my turkey in packages of 2 cups. First off, I made my own pastry crust using a basic 1 1/3 C flour, 3T shortening, 5T butter, and 4T water and salt. For those reviews which used store bought crust, the homemade will add much more flavor. It's a lot easier than some people think. I increased the chicken to 2 C and used 1/2 of a bag of mixed veggies instead of fresh carrots and celery. And I only added one potato because the bag of potatoes I recently bought are really large. After reading reviews about blandness and dryness, I increased the butter, flour, and milk by 50% for extra gravy. Next time I will double it because I like more gravy. I also added fresh thyme for additional flavor. It was delicious! If it had more gravy, it would have been 5 stars. I will modify the next time for sure, then it will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
This recipe was GREAT! We made it without a pie crust and just put a layer of puff pastry on top and cooked for 25 mins at 400. An easy way to use up leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
Delish! Especially with my grandma's homemade pastry and the post about the blandness. I was sure to taste before filling the pie and decided to add a tsp. of poultry seasoning rather than more boullion as well as a little more pepper... it was great, can't wait for Easter turkey left overs! Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This was absolutely wonderful. Everyone in my family ate it ( including a 3 and 1 yr old). The second time I made this I used leftover frozen turkey and it made no difference. My suggestions to make it easier to do: 1) deal with the crust after having made the filling; it's best to let it cool a bit, 2) add the turkey to the first skillet and make the gravy by itself. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANITASTANKO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I doubled this recipe and used as all purpose italian seasoning, and it was awesome. I have family members asking for this recipe, and neighbors too!! I think this is the best I 've had since i was a kid eating my grandmothers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Stunning. It's great with sauteed mushrooms added too, or leftover chicken instead of turkey. And if you're feeling lazy, it doesn't much matter if you leave out the lower crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
I made this with the leftovers from a baked chicken and it was wonderful! My kids gobbled it right up and hubby and I loved it too. I used 2 potatoes and add a can of condensed cream of chicken soup to make it creamier. Also used some Montreal seasoning on the chicken. VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States