Turkey Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
i made a few substitutions to this recipe. i'm not sure if that affected the flavor because overall i felt this really was kind of bland. I used califlower in place of potatoes and a can of chicken broth in place of the water and bullion. i'm not a big salt person, but i added more than called for and i still felt it needed something. i will try this again, but will add more seasoning to it. i did prebake the bottom crust as someone else suggested. I recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This was awesome! I used left over turkey breast that was cooked in the slow cooker the night before. I strained and saved the liquid from the crock pot and put in fridg overnight. I scraped the fat off the top and used the turkey drippings from the night before in place of the 2 C water and 2 Bouillon cubes.This was really a "feel good" meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Brilliant people are only lately srarting to enjoy the wonderful taste of Turkey meat on a regular basis,this is another great way to prepare it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Instead of the water and buillon, I added a can of chicken broth and mushroom gravy. I also added peas and corn. This came out AMAZING! I've made it several times and have received rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I don't have ten a inch pie pan, so I wound up getting two pies out of this recipe. I had to make some extra pie crust, but, hey, I got two pies for the price of one! I gave the extra pie to a neighbor. I added some oregano to my pie crust recipe, just to make it look pretty, and it did. I also used ground turkey. The only problem that I had with this recipe is that there really wasn't any sauce. Maybe that's because there's a bottom crust, and it would get soggy? I'm not sure. But, most pot pies that I've seen have sauce, usually a white, creamy sauce. Even the pot pie that's typically served around here (we have a lot of PA Dutch cooking in my area) has a thick, broth based sauce. I would a call it a Turkey Pie rather than a Turkey Pot Pie. Still, this was very good and had excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Best pot pie by far. Used Pillsbury Pie Crust from the store and brushed a beaten egg over the top crust, comes out just like homemade. I did double the turkey mixture...there is nothing better than gravy and turkey than more gravy and turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I used leftover chicken from a beer can grilled/smoked bird which was very flavorful, frozen mixed veggies, and added mushrooms. Pre-baked deep dish bottom crust and used rolled crust for the top. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Solon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I was EXTREMELY unhappy with this recipe. Not because of the taste because although a little bland the filling tasted fine and would have probably gotten a 4 star rating on its own, however this made so much filling I didn't have enough pie crusts so I put it in the fridge for a day and a half and when I took it out to use it, it had a gross sour taste to it like it had gone bad. I wanted to make a bunch of pies and freeze them but instead ALL of it was wasted and I was so disappointed. I won't make it again if it goes bad that quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I liked this recipes because it wasn't to heavy it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
SO GOOD! I've made this lots of times and everytime it taste great! My husband, his parents, and my parents love it. I do leave out the oregano now though. I don't really like the taste it leaves in this dish. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States