Turkey Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
The best I've ever tasted. I used chicken instead and only 1 pie crust on top. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I made this with a butter pie crust recipe. I was so close to using cream of mushroom but DO NOT do this! Instead of milk I used 1/3 cu. of half & half - it turned out awesome. I didn't have potatoes or celery either... I just added one sweet onion, corn, peas and carrots and seasoned with celery seed. Great basic recipe! I will definitely make this again next winter :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Delicious and adaptable to whatever veges you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine VW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Best I have had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Good stuff. I used chicken broth instead of the water with chicken bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This is a tasty way to get rid of leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This was good. A little bland, but hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
My husband & 14 year old son go crazy for t his recipe! I'm lucky to get a full serving! Have made this a few times. I freeze leftover turkey, 2 cups per bag, just for this recipe. We do like a little more saue so I add either some turkey gravy or a bit of cream of chicken soup & a touch of poultry seasoning. Pre-baking the bottom crust for 5 minutes or so is also something I recommend. Ultimate comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMUCKEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This is a great recipe for Thanksgiving left overs! I used two ready-made crusts and it turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvnMitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Bottom line up front: This was very, VERY good. I will definitely make this again, even though it does take some time and effort to put together. I followed some of the advice I found in other reviews: I doubled the flour, butter and milk to avoid dryness; I decreased the amount of oregano by about half and added about half a teaspoon each of rosemary, sage and thyme (all dried); I added frozen peas (peas are a MUST in a pot pie, if you ask me); I decreased the potatoes by about half; and I used a puff pastry top crust and no bottom crust because I don't generally like a bottom crust anyway. Having never worked with puff pastry before, I had to ask around to find out how much to thaw from the frozen package. It turns out that one "standard" size sheet of puff pastry will pretty much cover a 13X9 casserole dish, with just a little bit of rolling or creative cutting/stretching. I placed the pastry directly on the topping with no pre-baking, and I baked it for about 30 minutes at 400. I did make one mistake with the puff pastry: I tried to get fancy with cut-out shapes instead of just cutting some slits in the sheet. I used a rolling cookie cutter and then placed the shapes on top of the filling, thinking it would look pretty when it was done. I didn't realize that the cookie cutter I used was way too detailed and we wouldn't be able to tell what the shapes were supposed to be by the time it was cooked! Tasted GREAT, but next time I'll do a lattice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 171-180 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States