Turkey Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
i made a few substitutions to this recipe. i'm not sure if that affected the flavor because overall i felt this really was kind of bland. I used califlower in place of potatoes and a can of chicken broth in place of the water and bullion. i'm not a big salt person, but i added more than called for and i still felt it needed something. i will try this again, but will add more seasoning to it. i did prebake the bottom crust as someone else suggested. I recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This was awesome! I used left over turkey breast that was cooked in the slow cooker the night before. I strained and saved the liquid from the crock pot and put in fridg overnight. I scraped the fat off the top and used the turkey drippings from the night before in place of the 2 C water and 2 Bouillon cubes.This was really a "feel good" meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Brilliant people are only lately srarting to enjoy the wonderful taste of Turkey meat on a regular basis,this is another great way to prepare it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Instead of the water and buillon, I added a can of chicken broth and mushroom gravy. I also added peas and corn. This came out AMAZING! I've made it several times and have received rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I don't have ten a inch pie pan, so I wound up getting two pies out of this recipe. I had to make some extra pie crust, but, hey, I got two pies for the price of one! I gave the extra pie to a neighbor. I added some oregano to my pie crust recipe, just to make it look pretty, and it did. I also used ground turkey. The only problem that I had with this recipe is that there really wasn't any sauce. Maybe that's because there's a bottom crust, and it would get soggy? I'm not sure. But, most pot pies that I've seen have sauce, usually a white, creamy sauce. Even the pot pie that's typically served around here (we have a lot of PA Dutch cooking in my area) has a thick, broth based sauce. I would a call it a Turkey Pie rather than a Turkey Pot Pie. Still, this was very good and had excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Best pot pie by far. Used Pillsbury Pie Crust from the store and brushed a beaten egg over the top crust, comes out just like homemade. I did double the turkey mixture...there is nothing better than gravy and turkey than more gravy and turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I used leftover chicken from a beer can grilled/smoked bird which was very flavorful, frozen mixed veggies, and added mushrooms. Pre-baked deep dish bottom crust and used rolled crust for the top. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Solon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I was EXTREMELY unhappy with this recipe. Not because of the taste because although a little bland the filling tasted fine and would have probably gotten a 4 star rating on its own, however this made so much filling I didn't have enough pie crusts so I put it in the fridge for a day and a half and when I took it out to use it, it had a gross sour taste to it like it had gone bad. I wanted to make a bunch of pies and freeze them but instead ALL of it was wasted and I was so disappointed. I won't make it again if it goes bad that quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I liked this recipes because it wasn't to heavy it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
SO GOOD! I've made this lots of times and everytime it taste great! My husband, his parents, and my parents love it. I do leave out the oregano now though. I don't really like the taste it leaves in this dish. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States