Turkey Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Fantastic! I had to modify to make it in one skillet: butter, potatoes and carrots first until softened but firm, then add other veggies and spices. Next add turkey, then add flour, stir. Then milk stirring well, then chicken broth. We also added a few garlic cloves in with our veggies. We didn't have a top crust, so I used dumpling mix and covered with aluminum foil in the oven. We removed the foil for the last 10 minutes which gave the crust some crunch. This was great - even the kids ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banyan99

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Ok, this one is a tough one to rate. I loved it, and I would give it a 5 and make it every year w/my leftover turkey. My husband..well, when I told him what was for dinner, he was less than enthused. He ate it w/o complaint, didn't get seconds and said no to wrapping up the leftovers (both are indicators on how well he likes something since he never tells me). So, I guess I have to give it a four..only because he (and my 7yr old) didn't care for it....but I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I added a few things to this recipe. To the vegetable mixture you sautee, I also added 1 tsp minced garlic, 1/2 tsp sage, & 1/4 tsp thyme. I also increased the turkey amount to 2 cups. I also cheated & used a premade refrigerated pie crust. Delicious!!! This is definitely something I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I made this recipe almost exactly as written, and it is delicious! The small changes I made included a bit less celery (I ran out), olive oil instead of butter to saute the veggies, and margarine instead of butter to make the bechamel. Since I live at altitude (8,000 feet), I baked the pie for the first 15 minutes at 425 as directed, but found I needed to continue baking at 350 for 30 minutes for the crust to brown nicely. One more change was that I used an 8 x 8 baking pan, because I don't have a 10 inch pie pan. My husband has very traditional tastes, and he raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
YUM! I've made this dozens of times now and it is one of my husband's favorites! I don't use as much of the parsley and oregano and usually substitute the bullion and water w/chicken broth. I also add turnip and peas and bake it in a small roasting pan and add refrigerated biscuits the last 20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Loved this recipe! I did make a few changes. I used about 1/2 cup of turkey drippings (minus the fat) that I had saved from the turkey and didn't use in my gravy, and then made up the remaining 1 1/2 coup with chicken soup base instead of bouillon. When it called for the butter, milk, flour and turkey, I mixed the turkey in with leftover turkey gravy instead and then added a little bit of cornstarch to help with the thickening. I think the turkey gravy helped with the issue of blandness that some people complained about. I wanted a real use of my leftovers and this allowed me to use more. Anyone with leftover mashed potatoes could use those to help with thickening as well. All and all a yummy way to use up leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Outstanding! This will become an annual tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann262

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Delicious way to use leftover Thanksgiving turkey! Instead of running to the store for the ingredients I didn't have (carrots & celery), I substituted frozen peas. I also used chicken stock instead of bouillon and sprinkled in a half packet of brown gravy mix. For the pastry, I used NEVER FAIL PIE CRUST II by Mary Roahrig and halved the recipe for this pie. Hubby said it was the best meal I have made and my 1yr old ! As this was my first attempt making a pot pie and pie crust from scratch, I thought it was simple to make and full of flavor. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
so yummy I added dried basil and used real broth instead of what the recipe called for the family loved it!! WILL MAKE soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by retro.mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Molinos, California, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
i made a few substitutions to this recipe. i'm not sure if that affected the flavor because overall i felt this really was kind of bland. I used califlower in place of potatoes and a can of chicken broth in place of the water and bullion. i'm not a big salt person, but i added more than called for and i still felt it needed something. i will try this again, but will add more seasoning to it. i did prebake the bottom crust as someone else suggested. I recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States