Turkey Pot Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I really appreciated that this recipe calls for all fresh ingredients and no canned, condensed soup is needed. I used a Butterball frozen turkey roast and I did reduce the amount of basil called for to 1/2 tsp and swapped the flour for corn starch. This was a great pot pie and was enjoyed by the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Photo by Annithell
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I love this recipe! The only changes were I used chiken instead of turkey and did not put in any peas which I dislike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Very good way to use leftover turkey. Everybody enjoyed this recipe very much. I made 3 extras and froze them unbaked. This worked great for nights I didn't feel like cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I've been making this recipe for years and modified a few things a tiny bit to make extra creamier sauce and 2 extra pies. This last time I made it was the best to date! 3 recipes pastry for a (10 inch) double crust pie 1 1/2 sticks of butter, divided 1/2 Vidalia onion, minced 1 small bag baby carrots, sliced 1/2 cup dried parsley 1 tablespoon dried oregano 6 cubes chicken bouillon 6 cups water 5 lbs potatoes, peeled and cubed 6 lbs chicken breast cooked then cubed 2/3 cup all-purpose flour 2 1/2 cups heavy cream Added 1 can of corn 1/2 can of baby peas This will make the most amazing and creamy pot pie filling! No need to add salt. I bake the bottom crust before I add filling to avoid gooey bottom. Makes 3 pies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Perfect recipe! I make it gluten free by using a gluten free pie crust and by substituting the regular flour with tapioca flour. Also, I always use homemade broth. I've made it with Thanksgiving leftover turkey and with leftover oven roasted chicken and both times it came out amazingly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Great recipe. I make a simple Bisquick crust, following the package directions for biscuits then rolling it out to form a large enough piece to line the inside of a deep dish pie plate and a 2nd as a top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I'm not a huge fan of pot pies in general, but thought this one was good. I'd make it again. I only used a single crust on top because I needed to freeze it for a few weeks and then reheated. It worked out perfectly to use just one crust and freeze it with the crust unbaked, then defrost it in the oven and bake until the crust was golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Excellent! I added a quarter tsp of chopped basil, and frozen peas. I also used two cups of chicken broth with two bullion cubes instead of water. I WOULD MAKE AGAIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Me and my family loved this recipe. I made two! (one to keep and one to give away) and the measurements doubled perfectly! Even my picky son who said he hates pot pies LOVED it and asked for seconds! Easy peasy and fun to make. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I've made this twice now, first time was word for word and we enjoyed it. The second time I added ground sage and took the water down to 1 cup. In place of the second cup I did a can of cream of mushroom and wow--almost like my mom's. It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knamos85

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 740) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States