Turkey Pot Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This a great easy recipe - I used frozen deep dish pie shells and let them warm up while making the filling - one for the bottom and one for the top. In addition to the ingredient list, I added in about 3 cloves of diced garlic, a handful of diced mushrooms and used 1c. table cream instead of 1/2 c. milk to make it a bit thicker and richer. (But it meant we needed a bit more chicken stock than the 2 c.) It could have used even a bit more chicken stock to made the sauce a bit creamier and more saucy - but depends on if you like your pie runny or stiff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Easy and tasty!!! Great use for leftovers. Second time making it since Thanksgiving. I froze leftover turkey so I could make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
My new favorite pot pie recipe. I pre baked my crust and added the filling. I made a roux first, then added the broth. Turkey was cooked with the veggies. I added some sage cause I like that herb. Super tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
2 Thumbs up! I made some twists to it though. Overall great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Easy and delicious! I would do two things different next time: cube my potatoes smaller and add a bit more turkey...just to use more leftovers, not for taste. My husband and kids loved it and it was even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I recently tried this recipe and EVERYONE LOVED it. I made two seven-inch pies instead of one ten-inch one. The proportions of the ingredients were excellent. I have found a new Traditional Recipe to be used at Thanksgiving, not just after it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I made some adjustments based on other user reviews and this turned out wonderful. I added some green beans, used 3 green onions instead of regular onion, 3/4 cup milk instead of 1/2 and added a half a can of cream of mushroom soup. 2 potatoes instead of 3 and I cooked it for about 15 minutes longer. My whole family loved it and ate seconds. It was a great way to used the thanksgiving turkey! Using the extra milk and soup gave it plenty of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Fiance and i both liked this. I added some pressed garlic to veggies like i do for everything. Added extra milk since once all mixed together it seemed a little thick. Will def make again but add more variety of veggies next time. Was hesitant on the amount of potato. I used 3 small ones and was still a lot. Green beans corn and peas would be great. Great for turkey leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RichelleB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was a good recipe. Just a little bland. But the directions were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Just tried this recipe tonight on my Thanksgiving leftovers. I had read through some of the reviews, and would agree with some comments and changes. I don't keep many dry herbs on hand, so I used what I had, I used less than 0.5 T Italian blend spices. BTW, I had doubled the recipe. I used 5 yellow potatoes, but found that to be a bit too much potato, and will cut back on the next go around to about 3 potatoes. I added in 1 cup of frozen peas. I had over a cup of leftover Turkey broth, and added water to make it 2 cups. Then used 2 cups of water, 2 packets of Mazola no MSG chicken bouillon. But the pie was not as saucy as I'd like. Maybe cutting back on the potatoes or adding an extra cup or 1.5 cup of broth might help. Next time I will also be adding in more meat & peas. Also, I cut out the bottom crust, and used 2% milk to bring down the calories. Overall, it is a solid recipe, and a great base from which I can switch up on my own. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrownSugar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Calistoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 718) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States