Turkey Pot Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This was fantastic. I read a lot of the reviews and incorporated those changes into it. I used the Pillsbury pie crust from the dairy section and baked the bottom crust 6 minutes, plus cooled the filling, before adding filling to crust. I didn't have any trouble with the crust this way, it was light and flaky. Other mods from the suggestions in other reviews: I exchanged milk for cream and doubled to 1 cup, used chicken stock instead of bullion, increased turkey to 2.5 cups and flour to 4 tbsp, measured potatoes to 1.5 cups, and added 2 cloves garlic, 1/2 tsp sage, and 1/2 cup mushrooms. With all of the adds I ended up with enough filling for 2 pies, so I made one with a bottom crust and one without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This was so good! I doubled up the recipe and put it in a 13x9in baking dish because one little pie is not enough for my big family. I also had to double up the pie pastry recipe to make up for the bigger container. I used leftover shredded turkey from Thanksgiving. I didn't have enough parsely and I was out of celery, think it would've been better if I had the right amount of ingredients. I also used chicken broth instead of bouillon because I didn't have it and it's expensive and it has a bunch of MSG in it. I think it would be better with some peas added, it's just not pot pie without the peas. I did what the other reviews suggested and I let it cool before pouring in my crust. Because I put it in a bigger container, I had to bake it about 10 minutes longer. This is a keeper though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbaladez3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
A first time pot-pier, I followed the recipe pretty much and loved it! A few tweaks out of necessity due to a picky veggie eating hubbie. Celery and onion were off the table so I cut down the onion to 2 T (he'll never know its in there)and subbed the celery for an eyed pour of frozen mixed veggies (carrots, corn, peas, grn beans, limas). Also, subbed one of the carrot sticks for a parsnip stick and oh my, sooo good. As per some reviewers suggestions, I added a little more flour and milk, used rosemary, Italian seasonings, and parsley, and added poultry seasoning and Adobo (instead of salt) to the turkey mix. Lastly, because I only had one pie crust left and plenty of mashed potatoes leftover from Thanksgiving, it became a sort of mix between pot pie and shepherds pie by spreading (or dolaping, rather) the tators over top in place of a second pie crust. A sprinkle of shredded cheddar over top to add a cheesy crust and voila, DANK POT PIE!!!! Thank you so much original poster and reviewers, if it wasn't for you we wouldn't be stuffed right now! And btw, the Pinot was a capitol idea and thoroughly added to the cooking experience! Energy saving tip: wait until filling is done and cooling before heating up oven and par-baking the crust, otherwise the oven sits there cooking empty for a good 20 minutes while you are waiting for the filling to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HammockJunkie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
i love this recipe I make it every year except I add more veggies and a mixture of other spices to make it just right. I am not a big pot pie person but this pie is a major hit with all of our friends and family. its great with croissant crust makes it extra fluffy and just throws it over the edge of yummy. major requests from friends that live hundreds of miles around us. wonderful recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbra Goodman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
AMAZING! MADE THIS LAST YEAR AFTER THANKSGIVING AND ARE MAKING IT NOW. NEW TRADITION WITH LEFT OVER TURKEY. TASTE IS AWESOME. SO FLAVORFUL. BEST TURKEY PIE I'VE EVER HAD. I ADD EGG ON MY CRUST TO MAKE IT NICE AND GOLDEN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Definitely needs more sauce. Will double or triple the amount of milk next time. I added frozen peas for color. If I make it again I will use half and half and make the sauce separately will add the turkey (2 cups) directly to the vegetables and then add the white sauce. The flavor was nice. Will also add some thyme. I cooled the mixture completely before I put it in the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Redonesgirl
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Good recipe. Kids loved it. I used a food processor to save time. Came out awesome and was smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ana
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This recipe was really good. This was my first time making turkey pot pie and it came out great!!! I agree to let the filling cool for about 15 mins so the crust isn't gluey. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This pot pie was delicious. I modified it by using pot pie noodles instead of the crust, since I ate so much pie over the holiday. The seasoning was just right and I increased the amount of turkey to 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I have used this recipe for my post-thanksgiving pot pie for years. My family looks forward to this dish on the Sunday after thanksgiving, when we do our Christmas decorating and top,off the day with this pot pie. . It's perfect as written and I find it plenty saucy. One thing I do for a flavor boost is add some homemade gravy to the turkey and milk mixture. Yummy! Thanks for a reliably awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 739) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States