Turkey Pot Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
When I told my husband I was making this after Thanksgiving, he seemed unimpressed;However after he ate it, he raved about it for weeks and asked when was I making it again. It came out delicious even using the store bought pie crust. Will definitely make this crowd pleaser again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Nice and easy. Skipped the pie crust, and topped with puff pastry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Really good! but you need to let the filling cool so that when you serving it will not fall apart on you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is a fabulous recipe, although I can nitpick the way it is presented. It would be easier if the ingredients list gave measurable quantities of chopped veggies (e.g., one cup, or 1/2 cup) rather than "two small onions" or "two carrots diced" or "three small potatoes peeled and cubed." My small onion or potato might be different from yours. Besides, to make life easy, I buy celery and onions, etc., already chopped, and I had to guess how much of each to use. I substituted fresh chopped cilantro for the dried parsley and also used chicken broth rather than water and chicken cubes, and all of the pie pans I own or prepared crust bottoms I could find in the store were 9 inch rather than 10, but otherwise I followed the recipe precisely and it was delicious. Also, I doubled the recipe, made two pies which I baked at the same time, and froze one of them for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
What a great way to deal with those post-holiday Turkey leftovers. I didn't have any chicken bouillon, so I improvised with cream of mushroom soup, extra salt, and added in some garlic and onion powder. Even after all of that, the filling was still the tiniest bit "blah" so I mixed in about a half cup of leftover turkey gravy (made from the turkey drippings), and added more veggies (frozen corn and peas). I also ended up having to bake the pot pie longer than the recipe calls for. Still, the filling was the perfect amount of creamy, without being runny. The bottom crust could've been more crisp--I might pre-cook that a bit next time--but the store-bought crust held up well. This definitely does make enough to feed 8 people, and I ended up with almost half a pot pie leftover. Next time, I might halve the recipe and use actual pie pans, or even make individual servings that I can freeze. Oh, as a warning, I tried reheating part of the pot pie in the oven set at 350 and, while the top of the crust was still crisp, the flavor of the pie wasn't great--it was good, but not great--and the bottom crust was a gluey mess. Still, I'd make it again; if only to try it with the chicken bouillon included.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This was very good. I made a few changes...instead of using chicken bouillon I used the homemade turkey stock. Boil the carcass and bones after picking all of the meat off of the turkey and put in pot, cover with water and throw in leftover gravy, carrots, onions - anything for taste. Simmer all afternoon and then drain the broth off the bones into another pot. Put in fridge and then, when the fat hardens on the top, scrape it off and discard. Now you have a great stock - a REAL and healthy alternative to high-sodium bouillon. The taste is completely different and much, much better. After I added stock and simmered the Pot Pie mixture, I added mushrooms and peas. I also added summer savory (sage) and rosemary and thyme. I did not add a flour mixture. I then made a home-made biscuit recipe and rolled it thin, placed the pot pie mixture into a casserole dish when the mixture was hot, then put the biscuit mixture on top and baked in the oven at 350 for about 15 minutes. I made biscuits with the leftover biscuit dough and served with a salad. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. Please be sure to read your notes, as the filling was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This was AMAZING! Will make again :) I added twice the amount of turkey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Made this last night with minor changes - absolutely the best pot pie I've ever eaten! (And I looovve to eat!) My changes were: instead of oregano, I used Bell's seasoning for that real Thanksgiving taste and chicken broth in place of the boullion and water (to which I threw in a bit more salt). Excellent recipe that I will use forever...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise King
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
LOVED IT!!! Original recipe was great. I didnt have enough pie crust for top and bottom, so I used another review's idea and topped with stuffing. That was the only change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 739) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States