Turkey Pot Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was very tasty and was a great way to use up Thanksgiving leftovers! I used two cups of chicken broth instead of water and boullion cubes a mix of seven small red potatoes and Yukon Golds because that is what we had on hand. I left the skin on when chopping the potatoes. I also added a half cup of frozen peas to the broth mixture when the potatoes were done because we like peas in our pot pies. Otherwise I followed the recipe as written and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I really did like this recipe. I changed a few veggies around to fit what we like in our household. Instead of celery, I used fresh broccoli and added peas as well. This is a good simple recipe but with plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Amazing recipe! Made the most delicious pot pie ever! Just like Marie Callender's! Perfect way to use turkey leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweeterthanhoney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
its good, tasty and will make your family love family dinners again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
As many reviewers have already stated, you may add or adjust seasonings and ingredients to your taste. However, the basis of this recipe is delicious! I had reservations about so much parsley but went ahead and used the amount listed in the recipe. I also added about 1/4 tsp poultry seasoning, 1/2 tsp fresh chopped rosemary, 1/2 tsp kosher salt, 1/4 tsp fresh ground pepper and omitted the oregano. Increased the amount of turkey to about 2-1/2 cups. I used 2 tablespoons of left over gravy and substituted 2 cups chicken broth in place of the water and chicken bouillon. I also increased the milk to about 3/4 cup. Left the amount of flour the same. I only had one pie crust and the amount seemed too much for a 10" pie plate so I used a 9 x 11 glass dish with one pie crust on top. Next time I might not leave it in on 425 for 15 minutes because the crust got a little too brown...but that's just my oven. That's why I love allrecipes.com....you have tried and true recipes and informative and creative reviews. Thank you to the original poster and to all the reviewers for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This was a great way to use my leftovers in a scrumptious and creative manner...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Just tried this recipe for the first time, delicious. My Family just loved it. I took the suggestions from others and increaded the milk to 1 cup and used 2 cups of chicken broth instead of bullions. Other than that i did not change anything else. will make this again and again. Next time is beef instead of turkey. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary
Home Town: Romulus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Like other reviewers, I altered the recipe. However, this recipe is a good starting point. I added leftover dressing to the vegetable mix to season it. My dressing has cornmeal, sage, celery, onions, pepper, etc. in it. I also added minced garlic to the flour butter mixture. I don't understand other reviewers who cook this dish and then say it has no taste. Taste the filling before you put it in the pie dish and then season it how you like! I also used 3/4 cups milk and 4 tbsp flour and a little extra butter to accommodate the extra flour. I like that the filling is thick and not runny, but that is a personal preference. I baked my bottom crust for 5 minutes and let the filling cool before putting it in the pie dish. I brushed the top crust with a egg white. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Great! We made it with one refrigerated pie crust because that's what we had. The filling was firm, so the one crust worked fine. Hit the spot this chilly day after Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Absolutely wonderful. We made this with some left over thanksgiving turkey meat and it was incredible. Whole family raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 719) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States