Turkey Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
After having lived in Mexico for seven years, and having been taught to make pozole by my Mexican mother-in-law, I was a little hesitant to try a pozole that didn't use the traditional pork, since pozole is one of my all time favorites. BUT! This recipe is great! I tried it to use up my leftover Thanksgiving turkey and the soup is absolutely fabulous. I will make one suggestion...traditional pozole is always served with shredded cabbage (or lettuce), diced fresh onion, fresh lime juice and a nice big bottle of hot sauce, so each individual can customize his bowl. I put these items on the side and boy, did we enjoy our meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallsington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
This is not a good Pozole recipe. The original recipe goes for pork, chicken and even a vegetarian version with no meat/poultry at all. It does not have beans, or jalapeños or anything the recipe stands for. Maybe it is a good caserole of something, but Pozole never...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Living In: Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
Absolutely fantastic. I used the whole turkey carcass with a little meat left on it and cooked it down till it fell apart. Removed the bones and then followed the rest of the receipe. There were 5 fussy eaters at this meal and they all admitted that they were surprised and they all had 2nd's. We found this should absolutely be served with good cold micro beer. We will make this every year with the leftover turkey and will really look forward to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I dont know how this compares to what one would consider "authentic" posole, but this is a darn good soup! My wife was a bit skeptical, and she hates hominy, so she used corn, but my whole family enjoyed this one. It is very flavorful and aromatic. It has great texture. We added a little grated cheddar when serving, and I just kept going back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
It was a very good soup but definitely not what I would consider "pozole". And I think using either beans or hominy would make the recipe better. The texture of both mixed together is just a little strange (the beans were too soft next to the hominy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fridafreak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Oh YUUUUMMMMMMM!!! I made this with leftover chicken instead of turkey and used chicken broth as well. The only thing I did different (other than that) with this recipe is I bought the wrong peppers by mistake- I bought a can of serrano peppers which I think are hotter than poblano peppers and I know are hotter than jalepeno which I somehow forgot to buy (oops) so I didn't use the whole can because I didn't want to ruin the recipe in case they were too hot- anyway- it turned out fine- the flavors mixed WONDERFULLY and this will be a recipe I will use over and over (maybe a new years tradition)- I served with hot sauce, sour cream and tortilla chips. THANK YOU!!!! I will try with turkey and I will also try with pork in the future too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Very good posole! In my family we traditionally have posole on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day so the idea of having it on New Year's Day is a new one, but a good one too. Another good idea is to make the posole with chicken and red chile sauce, fresh lemons and chopped onions, and dried oregano. Dee-lish. This is a very good version too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cass Deliciae
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I agree with another reviewer who commented on the traditional recipes for posole, but I have to say that I thought this recipe was okay. For someone that has never had posole (my husband and his parents) they liked it just fine. I did leave out the poblanos, because I didn't know what kind of heat they would add to the soup and my husband and his parents can't handle much spice. Otherwise, I made this recipe as written. I like that the beans and hominy make this a very filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cass Deliciae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Great soup! Pretty much followed the recipe and it was delicious. Obviously it's not a traditional pozole, but hey it tastes really good, isn't that what matters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I made this using my leftover Thanksgiving turkey carcass. It was absolutely delicious. Surpasses my usual turkey noodle soup recipe for sure. It's a nice change of pace. I started by boiling the carcass until the meat was mostly all off the bone. Drained it and picked out the good meat. I used the broth and meat without measuring. I didn't have poblano chile peppers or green chile peppers, so I used a dried ancho chile that I had. I only had one can of white beans rather than two, but it seemed like enough. This definitely needs toppings. We let each person top their own with cilantro, lime, lettuce, sharp cheddar, onion and tortilla chips. Yum! They totally improve the soup. Without them it would seem dull. With them it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States