Turkey Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by GELOGENIC
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Even as a picky eater, my husband finds this quite delicious. Easy to make, tastes great and authentic (to what I've had living with a family in Cuernavaca, Mexico) even using turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GELOGENIC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I dont know how this compares to what one would consider "authentic" posole, but this is a darn good soup! My wife was a bit skeptical, and she hates hominy, so she used corn, but my whole family enjoyed this one. It is very flavorful and aromatic. It has great texture. We added a little grated cheddar when serving, and I just kept going back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Great way to use turkey--something definitely different and delicious. I had all the ingredients except the hominy, so I substituted frozen corn, and that was just fine. We put corn chips in the bottom of the bowl before adding the posole. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
This is not a good Pozole recipe. The original recipe goes for pork, chicken and even a vegetarian version with no meat/poultry at all. It does not have beans, or jalapeños or anything the recipe stands for. Maybe it is a good caserole of something, but Pozole never...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Living In: Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I have made the pork version of this, so it was great to see turkey. I like both of them. This just has a good, spicy flavor that even my 4 children liked. Not too spicy--just enough to give a little heat! I didn't have poblano chiles so I had to sub Jalapenos. I'll try the right kind next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACABINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
Fabulous! I used one hungarian pepper and one more mild pale green pepper and it was just the right amount of spicy (although people who don't like spicy foods might find it overly so).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
We don't eat pork, so I loved finding a recipe for red posole that uses turkey (or chicken) instead! Green posole is okay, but the flavor doesn't have the depth of the red. Anyhow....I didn't have any turkey left-overs, so I used dark chicken instead, and jalapenos instead of poblanos. The store didn't have any cannellini beans, so I used pinto. The dark meat was fall apart tender, and we used lots of fresh lime and cabbage mixed in. Great texture, and the flavor is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
This is a great recipe. I have used jalepenos and pinto beans and added carrots. Always turns out great. Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Oh YUUUUMMMMMMM!!! I made this with leftover chicken instead of turkey and used chicken broth as well. The only thing I did different (other than that) with this recipe is I bought the wrong peppers by mistake- I bought a can of serrano peppers which I think are hotter than poblano peppers and I know are hotter than jalepeno which I somehow forgot to buy (oops) so I didn't use the whole can because I didn't want to ruin the recipe in case they were too hot- anyway- it turned out fine- the flavors mixed WONDERFULLY and this will be a recipe I will use over and over (maybe a new years tradition)- I served with hot sauce, sour cream and tortilla chips. THANK YOU!!!! I will try with turkey and I will also try with pork in the future too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
WOW! What a wonderful soup! So easy to make and absolutely fabulous! I made as written with the exception of the poblanos. I didn't have any, so used 4 or 5 canned chipotles instead. Did I mention this recipe is fabulous! Thanks so much for sharing, Camilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Turkey Tom Kha Gai

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into a spicy Thai soup with coconut milk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States