Turkey Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was amazing with only a few changes! I used center cut pork chops (2lbs cubed) instead of turkey. Chicken stock instead of turkey (I didn't have any). I threw in 2 cups of frozen corn, 1 can of tomato sauce and slow cooked all of it on low for 5 hrs. To date this has been the only recipe with hominy my husband will every eat! AMAZING! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oliviajvega

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cass Deliciae
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I agree with another reviewer who commented on the traditional recipes for posole, but I have to say that I thought this recipe was okay. For someone that has never had posole (my husband and his parents) they liked it just fine. I did leave out the poblanos, because I didn't know what kind of heat they would add to the soup and my husband and his parents can't handle much spice. Otherwise, I made this recipe as written. I like that the beans and hominy make this a very filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cass Deliciae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Great receipe. It came out very spicy hot. Don't know if my chiles were extra hot, but is a good receipe. It's one that I will keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Great soup! Pretty much followed the recipe and it was delicious. Obviously it's not a traditional pozole, but hey it tastes really good, isn't that what matters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I followed the recipe to the letter and it's great! Maybe not quite like "authentic" posole, but still very good. A nice change from the same old "turkey bone soup". Also, it's not as spicy as you might imagine using the fresh poblanos and canned green chilies. Just a nice hint of spice. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas2Step

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I made this using my leftover Thanksgiving turkey carcass. It was absolutely delicious. Surpasses my usual turkey noodle soup recipe for sure. It's a nice change of pace. I started by boiling the carcass until the meat was mostly all off the bone. Drained it and picked out the good meat. I used the broth and meat without measuring. I didn't have poblano chile peppers or green chile peppers, so I used a dried ancho chile that I had. I only had one can of white beans rather than two, but it seemed like enough. This definitely needs toppings. We let each person top their own with cilantro, lime, lettuce, sharp cheddar, onion and tortilla chips. Yum! They totally improve the soup. Without them it would seem dull. With them it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Ay caramba! Me gusta mucho! Left out the beans, pureed some of the hominy and threw in some tortilla chips which fall apart to give it a thicker consistency. Seasoning is right on. I'm sure I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fruitport, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
My family loved this dish! I did omit the poblano peppers, due to my kids not liking spicy dishes. I did use fresh roasted green chiles though. I was telling a friend about making this dish, and she said hominy purchased from a mexican store is so much better(frozen hominy). Next time I make this, I plan to use her suggestion. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This recipe was very good. My husband and I were looking for something to do with leftover turkey. This definitely fit the bill. I know it is not your traditional posole but the flavor was fantastic!!! This is a definite make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I made this for New Year's Day and everyone loved it. I used dry hominy and soaked and cooked it (the package had directions) and did not use cannellini beans; also roasted my poblanos. It was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States