Turkey Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I thought this was great. I had never had posole before and didn't know what it was, but this was a great way to use turkey that i had bought and didn't know what to do with it. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Guilford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I thought this was real close to the Posole everyone in New Mexico calls "real Posole". One reviewer said it wasn't even close but I totally disagree! No meat, as she claimed, wouldn't be Posole at all! Yet another review said beans and hominy together didn't work. Wow, I can't imagine it any other way. Many folks out my way use pinto rather than cannellini beans and it's great that way too. This recipe is what us south westerners call mex-American authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
We used this for thanksgiving left overs as well as Christmas left overs instead of just turkey soup. I've never had Poole, but we are no wimps when it comes to Mexican food or spice in general. So, I mad the soup just as listed with some extra garlic. I used half dark meat, half white meat. It turned out great and in my opinion wasn't spicy, just really flavorful. We even gave our 7 year old daughter the soup and she liked it. Oh and we garnished it with cheddar cheese, cilantro and tortilla chips. Lime juice probably would be good too. I have no idea how authentic this is, but it tastes great and frankly that's what I really care about. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This recipe was very easy and yummy. I have used leftover turkey in soups before and never really liked the results. This was delish. I only used one can each of the hominy and beans and it turned out great. Definitely a keeper for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I used all hominy - no beans. great with diced onion mixed with cilantro and corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Hubby loves this and requests when we have leftover turkey. Variations: added one lb cooked chorizo, omitted beans, replaced can chiles with one small dice jalapeño, thickened with cornmeal. Presto! It is now chile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Just made this for the second time in a week. Outstanding! Didn't have any poblanos so doubled the diced green chillis - one can hot and one can mild. Served with cilantro, sour cream, cheddar and avocado. Tastes even better the 2nd and 3rd days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I was looking for a dish that used leftover turkey and found this fantastic recipe. I Followed the recipe, as is, and it was awesome! I don't know if it is authentic or not but my family loved it. I think I will be making turkey more often next year. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
,I was very disappointed in this soup. It didn't have the flavor I thought the ingredients would give it. This was way too bland for our tastes, so I added a can of extra hot Rotel Tomatoes, a can of whole kernel corn and some jalapeños. All that made it thicker and spicier and tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This was really good. I would have rated it a TEN. Only changed one item. Used chili and lime powder because that was all I had. Sprinkled with monterey jack cheese, sliced cabbage and fresh lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States