Turkey Pinwheel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Turkey Pinwheel Haiku: "Swell shift from meatloaf. But tasted 'artificial.' Would need some changes." I prefer AR's "Spinach Turkey Roll" recipe to this one, both of similar ingredients and presentation, but something about this one didn't sit right w/ me. I'm not sure if it was the ketchup instead of spaghetti sauce on top, or the 'synthetically-seasoned' vibe of the Italian seasoning sprinkled on top at the end, but this pinwheel just didn't agree w/ my tastebuds. Only sub I had to make was fresh, torn baby spinach in place of frozen. The one thing that did make me waver on giving this a higher rating was marveling in astonishment as my 3-year old ate her entire plate. (Spinach - really?!? Dessert's on me!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I'm sure this is a great recipe but they had it listed under low carb recipes and on a low carb diet you can not have any breadcrumbs or ketchup, both of which are ingredients in this recipe. I will try it with tomato puree and find a substitute for the breadcrumbs. You may want to lessen the salt it calls for, too, because cheeses are salty and people often forget that. Other than all of this, it sounds like a really great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Suzanne Faucher-Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Use low sodium breadcrumbs!!! This was SO SALTY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I thought it was great, but I didn't follow the exact recipe. Some changes I made that I thought were fantastic: I didn't add any salt at all, as per other suggestions. I did add garlic powder in its place, because I love garlic in everything. for the center layer: I used feta crumbles rather than shredded italian cheese, (just something I love about spinach and feta together) and I added sauteed mushrooms, onions & garlic to the feta/spinach mixture. for the topping: I didn't use the ketchup, rather just some tomato paste and for the last 25 minutes of baking, I topped the meatloaf with strips of turkey bacon, then broiled it for the last couple minutes so the bacon got crispy. I had the turkey bacon on hand that I needed to use up and thought it was a nice touch to the meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
My boyfriend and I made this recipe twice in a three week period because it was so delicious! The turkey turns out really moist and flavorful. I followed the recipe exactly and had no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Nice concept. Was moist and tasty. Noticed that someone suggested using low sodium breadcrumbs, I suggest making your own. I also used fresh herbs and fresh garlic and spinach, and added some chives to the mix. Did not add the ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
WE (My DH and I) are making this for the second time we do not eat red meat any longer and look for ground turkey recipes!!! This is fabulous!!!! It is so good!!! It is quick and easy too!!! Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I was surprised how easy and delicious this is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susancon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Really enjoyed this turkey recipe! I used fresh spinach and followed the rest of the recipe. I had to put it back in for like another 30min till the middle was not pink anymore. Use your meat thermometer! Its a great recipe! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willow Springs, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This is a very good recipe, I've made it twice now and my hubby really likes it, the only thing I do different is use fresh baby spinach. The first time I made it I used frozen spinach but I just wasn't crazy about the taste. So the next time I used fresh and it was so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

This super simple meatloaf stars ground turkey and Colby cheese.

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States