Turkey Picadillo II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Really yummy! I love that it's a one pan dish. I don't know what's wrong with me that I feel the need to double these types of recipes and I did, but it was unnecessary. Happy to have left-overs though! I didnt' use raisins because I just don't like them. Served over brown rice. Thanks jeidipippins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This "Turkey Picadillo II" was a tasty treat! I had to make mine making substitutions based on what I had on hand: ground chicken (instead of ground turkey); red peppers (instead of green peppers); and black olives (instead of green olives). It looked beautiful! I used only 1 teaspoon of cayenne. If I were to make this dish again, I would fry the spices with the poultry to take the raw edge off my freshly-ground cumin and to give the poultry some color (it never browned despite adding extra fat). Thank you jeidipippins for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This was completely unmemorable to me but the husband really liked it. However, it seems mostly healthy so that is a bonus. Forgot the capers unfortunately. Served it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Delicious!!! Will become a family fav...I had some corn I wanted to use up and added that to it. We ate it on corn tortillas-don't need anything else!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsPeony
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I've made this recipe many times. I usually make double the amount and freeze, which works out great. I don't add as much cayenne as the recipe calls for, instead I just put a pinch in and I omit the raisins and capers. That makes it not as authentic, but this is one of my family's favorite meals and I'm so happy I came across this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Delicious! I had never heard of Picadillo and stumbled upon this recipe when looking for something utilizing ground turkey - what a find! My whole family loved it!! I did reduce the cayenne to 1/4 tsp for my kids taste, but it still had a little kick, and it already has a lot of flavor from the other ingredients. I also added a can of drained chopped tomatoes and served it over brown rice. This is definitely a keeper and will be made again and again. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Excellent, didn't have white wine so I used chicken broth and still turned out really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
We loved this! I used ground beef instead of turkey and extra olives and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I've made this many times and finally decided to review it. This last time I made a few additions which I think made this dish even better. First I always double the recipe as it never lasts long and it's great as a leftover, so remember the following is for a double batch. In place of the tomato sauce I use a 28 oz. can of petite diced tomatoes drained (save the liquid)and a 6 oz. can of tomato paste. I use 1 cup of the small pimento stuffed olives measured after chopping. In addition to the raisins I add a 4.5 oz. box of pitted prunes chopped. A yellow or red bell pepper in place of the green. Add 1 cup of the liquid from the drained tomatoes to a small pot with 1/2 cup of Quinoa and cook as directed. Once cook add to the other ingredients in Step 2 along with a small can of chopped Portobello mushrooms. I like mine spicey but do as others have suggested and add the cayenne a little at a time or eliminate and use Rotel diced tomatoes with green chillis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Banhel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxford, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Reduce Cayanne to 1 t. for more reasonable spice level. Love it otherwise and have made it many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States