Turkey Picadillo II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by RSS
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Luv this recipe and so does my family. We tweak for our tastes like no raisins, more olives, red bell pepper, lil more beans, and lil less cayenne. But overall delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
this was pretty good but missing something.. i think i was expecting the olives and capers to be more pronounced.. i subbed dried cherries for the raisins and probably should have doubled them as i doubled the beans.. i reduced the cayenne to 1/4 tsp and could have gone up to 1/2 tsp.. 2 would have been way too much.. i should have seasoned the turkey as it was cooking b/c it was lacking something in the final product.. i salted to taste and added some onion powder at the end.. condiments will be added
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Wow, my mouth dropped as I watched my boys 10 & 12 eat this without any hesitation.I would not tell them anything that was in it (still won't) but was surprised because they always complain about black beans, never eat raisins and forget capers (I chopped these up small). I only added 3/4 tsp of cayenne and that was their only complaint- I didn't make it spicy enough.We ate it with Spanish rice & flour tortillas. This will for sure be made from now on. The other plus, they didn't even realize they were eating turkey. Win Win Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This "Turkey Picadillo II" was a tasty treat! I had to make mine making substitutions based on what I had on hand: ground chicken (instead of ground turkey); red peppers (instead of green peppers); and black olives (instead of green olives). It looked beautiful! I used only 1 teaspoon of cayenne. If I were to make this dish again, I would fry the spices with the poultry to take the raw edge off my freshly-ground cumin and to give the poultry some color (it never browned despite adding extra fat). Thank you jeidipippins for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
As others have suggested if I make this recipe again I would double the raisins and olives. I thought it was ok, my husband ate it but said not to make it again. I would give it a C+ and would play around with it to make it better if I decided to make it again. I wish I would have read the reviews before I cooked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Really yummy! I love that it's a one pan dish. I don't know what's wrong with me that I feel the need to double these types of recipes and I did, but it was unnecessary. Happy to have left-overs though! I didnt' use raisins because I just don't like them. Served over brown rice. Thanks jeidipippins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This was completely unmemorable to me but the husband really liked it. However, it seems mostly healthy so that is a bonus. Forgot the capers unfortunately. Served it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Delicious!!! Will become a family fav...I had some corn I wanted to use up and added that to it. We ate it on corn tortillas-don't need anything else!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsPeony
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I've made this recipe many times. I usually make double the amount and freeze, which works out great. I don't add as much cayenne as the recipe calls for, instead I just put a pinch in and I omit the raisins and capers. That makes it not as authentic, but this is one of my family's favorite meals and I'm so happy I came across this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Delicious! I had never heard of Picadillo and stumbled upon this recipe when looking for something utilizing ground turkey - what a find! My whole family loved it!! I did reduce the cayenne to 1/4 tsp for my kids taste, but it still had a little kick, and it already has a lot of flavor from the other ingredients. I also added a can of drained chopped tomatoes and served it over brown rice. This is definitely a keeper and will be made again and again. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States