Turkey Picadillo II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I am new to spicy food. I added the cayenne pepper a tiny bit at a time til I got to the spice level that was good for me. I too used prunes and doubled the amount used. (Love them!)Served with fresh bakery Kaiser rolls. This recipe is so great. Sweet and spicy at the same time. Just loved it. Am so glad that I ran out and bought all the ingredients so I could make as written. Thanks for sharing, Jeidippins. Just one little suggestion...remove the bay leaves before eating!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
The cayenne pepper was too much for my tastes so I gave the recipe 4 stars. I even added less than called for. I will add twice the amount of raisins next time. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Perhaps one of the best recipes I have made from this site. Very authentic. Works great with nacho chips, as a sloppy joe type of sandwich or just a dish served with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Jeidi, thank you for a wonderful recipe! It is so tasty! , just like the one my grandmother prepared when I was growing up. She prepared picadillo with ground beef but your recipe is so good I did not even noticed the difference. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
The combination of ingredients seemed wierd to me at first (olives, black beans, raisins!?), but when it all came together, it was delicious. We served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This is delicious... the only thing that I would change to give it 5 stars would be to add more raisins (double them) and olives and less cayenne. I used one tbsp and it was way to spicy. I ate it plain and it was good alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumnrose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Very tasty. The ingredients reminded me of Chicken Marbella which I love. I substituted chopped prunes for raisins, otherwise I prepared it exactly as written and served it with brown rice. My picky toddlers ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINDOUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This "Turkey Picadillo II" was a tasty treat! I had to make mine making substitutions based on what I had on hand: ground chicken (instead of ground turkey); red peppers (instead of green peppers); and black olives (instead of green olives). It looked beautiful! I used only 1 teaspoon of cayenne. If I were to make this dish again, I would fry the spices with the poultry to take the raw edge off my freshly-ground cumin and to give the poultry some color (it never browned despite adding extra fat). Thank you jeidipippins for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I've made this many times and finally decided to review it. This last time I made a few additions which I think made this dish even better. First I always double the recipe as it never lasts long and it's great as a leftover, so remember the following is for a double batch. In place of the tomato sauce I use a 28 oz. can of petite diced tomatoes drained (save the liquid)and a 6 oz. can of tomato paste. I use 1 cup of the small pimento stuffed olives measured after chopping. In addition to the raisins I add a 4.5 oz. box of pitted prunes chopped. A yellow or red bell pepper in place of the green. Add 1 cup of the liquid from the drained tomatoes to a small pot with 1/2 cup of Quinoa and cook as directed. Once cook add to the other ingredients in Step 2 along with a small can of chopped Portobello mushrooms. I like mine spicey but do as others have suggested and add the cayenne a little at a time or eliminate and use Rotel diced tomatoes with green chillis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Banhel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxford, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
i did a lot of different things to this but the main concept was kept..... thats why i gave it 5 stars cause its SO versatile... i used garbanzo beans,added a can of diced tomatoes, peas and believe it or not i diced a sweet potato and threw that in there also!!! EVERYBODY had seconds....and it was healthy so you dont feel guilty!! wonderful staple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States