Turkey Picadillo II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
We loved this! I used ground beef instead of turkey and extra olives and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I've made this many times and finally decided to review it. This last time I made a few additions which I think made this dish even better. First I always double the recipe as it never lasts long and it's great as a leftover, so remember the following is for a double batch. In place of the tomato sauce I use a 28 oz. can of petite diced tomatoes drained (save the liquid)and a 6 oz. can of tomato paste. I use 1 cup of the small pimento stuffed olives measured after chopping. In addition to the raisins I add a 4.5 oz. box of pitted prunes chopped. A yellow or red bell pepper in place of the green. Add 1 cup of the liquid from the drained tomatoes to a small pot with 1/2 cup of Quinoa and cook as directed. Once cook add to the other ingredients in Step 2 along with a small can of chopped Portobello mushrooms. I like mine spicey but do as others have suggested and add the cayenne a little at a time or eliminate and use Rotel diced tomatoes with green chillis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Banhel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxford, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Reduce Cayanne to 1 t. for more reasonable spice level. Love it otherwise and have made it many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Easy to make and very unique tasting. Be careful if you're not a spicy hot food person. Even 1/2 tsp of cayenne is enough to give a fair bite!! So much that it almost drowned out the other flavors for me. My cayenne was a newly opened spice so maybe it had more heat to it?? I'm feeding this to my toddler later so I think I will have to doctor it a bit as he may not like the ending tingle it leaves in your mouth. I didn't catch the salty/sweet even though I doubled the raisins. I would say start off with 1/4 tsp of cayenne and you can always add more if you want to dose it down with the rest of the wine! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Senger Stadler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Really good! Served it over rice. I did not have any wine or capers but will add those next time around. It was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
i did a lot of different things to this but the main concept was kept..... thats why i gave it 5 stars cause its SO versatile... i used garbanzo beans,added a can of diced tomatoes, peas and believe it or not i diced a sweet potato and threw that in there also!!! EVERYBODY had seconds....and it was healthy so you dont feel guilty!! wonderful staple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Delicious, easy, and good for you. What's not to like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
The combination of ingredients seemed wierd to me at first (olives, black beans, raisins!?), but when it all came together, it was delicious. We served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I made this as the recipe directs with one small change, less cayanne because my husband does not like foods that are too spicy hot. My whole family enjoyed this dish on top of burger buns as well as with rice! The flavors are so rich and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
The cayenne pepper was too much for my tastes so I gave the recipe 4 stars. I even added less than called for. I will add twice the amount of raisins next time. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States