Turkey Picadillo II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
As others have suggested if I make this recipe again I would double the raisins and olives. I thought it was ok, my husband ate it but said not to make it again. I would give it a C+ and would play around with it to make it better if I decided to make it again. I wish I would have read the reviews before I cooked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Really yummy! I love that it's a one pan dish. I don't know what's wrong with me that I feel the need to double these types of recipes and I did, but it was unnecessary. Happy to have left-overs though! I didnt' use raisins because I just don't like them. Served over brown rice. Thanks jeidipippins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This "Turkey Picadillo II" was a tasty treat! I had to make mine making substitutions based on what I had on hand: ground chicken (instead of ground turkey); red peppers (instead of green peppers); and black olives (instead of green olives). It looked beautiful! I used only 1 teaspoon of cayenne. If I were to make this dish again, I would fry the spices with the poultry to take the raw edge off my freshly-ground cumin and to give the poultry some color (it never browned despite adding extra fat). Thank you jeidipippins for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This was completely unmemorable to me but the husband really liked it. However, it seems mostly healthy so that is a bonus. Forgot the capers unfortunately. Served it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Delicious!!! Will become a family fav...I had some corn I wanted to use up and added that to it. We ate it on corn tortillas-don't need anything else!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsPeony
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I've made this recipe many times. I usually make double the amount and freeze, which works out great. I don't add as much cayenne as the recipe calls for, instead I just put a pinch in and I omit the raisins and capers. That makes it not as authentic, but this is one of my family's favorite meals and I'm so happy I came across this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Delicious! I had never heard of Picadillo and stumbled upon this recipe when looking for something utilizing ground turkey - what a find! My whole family loved it!! I did reduce the cayenne to 1/4 tsp for my kids taste, but it still had a little kick, and it already has a lot of flavor from the other ingredients. I also added a can of drained chopped tomatoes and served it over brown rice. This is definitely a keeper and will be made again and again. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Excellent, didn't have white wine so I used chicken broth and still turned out really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
We loved this! I used ground beef instead of turkey and extra olives and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I've made this many times and finally decided to review it. This last time I made a few additions which I think made this dish even better. First I always double the recipe as it never lasts long and it's great as a leftover, so remember the following is for a double batch. In place of the tomato sauce I use a 28 oz. can of petite diced tomatoes drained (save the liquid)and a 6 oz. can of tomato paste. I use 1 cup of the small pimento stuffed olives measured after chopping. In addition to the raisins I add a 4.5 oz. box of pitted prunes chopped. A yellow or red bell pepper in place of the green. Add 1 cup of the liquid from the drained tomatoes to a small pot with 1/2 cup of Quinoa and cook as directed. Once cook add to the other ingredients in Step 2 along with a small can of chopped Portobello mushrooms. I like mine spicey but do as others have suggested and add the cayenne a little at a time or eliminate and use Rotel diced tomatoes with green chillis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Banhel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxford, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States