Turkey-Lentil Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I thought this was a really nice recipe. I am not a big fan of pork sausage, but I did like the turkey sausage. I omitted the celery as I also don't care for celery. And I cut down on the garlic by 1/2. I love garlic, but I think you would have only tasted garlic had I put in the full amount called for. I also lightened it up a bit by adding a little chicken stock, as indeed, it is very thick. And I used sour cream instead of yogurt. But dang! This was pretty good!! Served it with warm crusty sour dough rolls, and it was a very full meal. I will definitely make it again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This was wonderful! The whole family was asking for more. Even the "picky" eaters!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Very Good! Simple and tasty. Made some changes since I didn't have everything on hand. - Instead of 2 qts vegetable broth, I used 1 qt chicken broth and 1 qt water. - Used 3 cloves of garlic - I didn't have cumin or thyme, so I added some chili powder instead. - Only had canned diced tomatoes on hand, so I used those instead of fresh tomatoes. - Left out the yogurt as I'm not a fan of it. The boyfriend had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This was excellent one of my favorite chili dishes ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
We all enjoyed this tremendously - I used one pound of ground turkey (not sausage), two cans of diced chili-ready tomatoes and added carrots. I found that I needed more broth to thin it up a bit - ended up adding two more cups. I also felt it needed lots more cumin, salt, and pepper. We served with whole wheat naan bread and everyone cleaned their bowls! Very healthy dish - good for your heart!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
My husband and I really enjoyed this dish. It was hearty enough without being overly heavy and the flavor was good, but not too strong. I made the recipe without any modifications and I would make it the same way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This was great and really easy to make. My husband even went for a second helping! The only variation I made was, I didn't have ground turkey, so I just shredded a turkey breast and used that instead. It turned out great. I will make this recipe again and pass it on to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
We LOVED this recipe. I made it for my husband and I thinking my kids wouldn't eat it, but they and their friends all had seconds and thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I made this as a soup so I just added more liquid. I used a combination of broth, vegetable, beef and chicken. I did not have the turmeric or the yogurt. This was DELICIOUS, EASY and QUICK. Will make again often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States