Turkey Lasagna with Butternut Squash, Zucchini, and Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I have never made lasagna before, so I was worried about how this would turn out. To my amazement, it not only turned out delicious, but it actually looked good, too! I followed the recipe exactly. I don't have lasagna experience, so I'm sure other reviewers will have different ways of making this, but I can't think of any changes that should be made. Also, I recommend taking the time to make your own sauce, rather than using a jar. The sauce was wonderful and really made the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Made this as stated, minus the butter squash, didn't have any on hand. It was delicious. Husband even raved about it. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
LOVED, LOVED, LOVED all this garden goodness! The sauce turned out a little thick for me, but this may have been because I used fresh tomatoes; I will just add more water next time. I crushed the butternut squash and this helped it to not be so chunky. I loved the sweetness of the squash, but my hubby and kids did not, so I would probably leave it out next time. Otherwise it was wonderful, wholesome, and delicious! It is lots of layers, so make sure you have a deep dish to cook this one! Thanks for a great keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Smallwood
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Whole family loved this recipe, including my 10 year old. He would prefer the zucchini chopped rather than sliced and I agree. It does take quite a while to make. Prep time is NOT 30 minutes, yes, maybe if you have everything already pre-chopped. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Smallwood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Yummy, the men want more meat in it, add fresh sliced cherry tomato and bacon on top for added flavor, it is especially tasty when you warm it up with bacon on top and add fresh tomato pieces to each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I mistakingly bought a butternut squash instead of a spaghetti squash so I came here looking for a way to use it. Came across this recipe and absolutely loved it! I am a full time working mom with two young kids so I did the speedy version. I did not make my own sauce, I used Newman's Own Sockaroni sauce. I microwaved the butternut squash whole and then peeled and sliced it into thin slices once it cooled. Next time I will buy frozen spinach and thaw it to speed things up even more. Also, I did not use all of the cheese mixture, the lasagna was plenty big without using all of it and I figured it would cut down on the calories as well. Still turned out wonderfully and I love that this is a much healthier version of traditional lasagna. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
My first time making lasagna...and it was AMAZING!!! It definitely took some time to make, but turned out better than I could have hoped. Can't wait to eat it for lunch tomorrow too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This tastes like a very traditional lasagna. I actually did this thinking that it would be a little heartier with the squash, zucchini & spinach, but you really couldn't taste those things. So, if you have a picky eater, than this is a great alternative. I believe the fennel gave it more of a sausage flavor as well. So it was very good for a lasagna, but I like more chunky vegetable lasagna myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This recipe was okay but not outstanding. After all the prep work and dirty dishes it created, we had alot higher hopes. Next time I'll just add butternut to my usual lasagna recipe. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
If you love squash you will love!!! Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States