Turkey Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
What a great and easy recipe! I used half turkey sausage and half shrimp. Didn't have the cajun seasoning so made due with what I had on hand. It was really good. There were no leftovers! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This was not too difficult to prepare and tasted great. I used Emeril's spicy turkey/chicken sausage and found it a little too spicy for my tastes (but everyone else loved it). Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
Wqas looking for something quick and easy to serve my picky family. There were 6 of us and I doubled the recipe as I made one with the turkey sausage and one with chicken breast. There was hardly an left. We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPolencheck
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This was fabulous! I did it a little differently-- cooked the rice alone and mixed it together before serving. Thus I used only 3/4 to 1 cup water with chicken bouillon granules. I did add 1.5 cups of frozen okra, and used yellow pepper instead of green to add some color to the dish. I used smoked extra lean turkey sausage ring. I added extra salt but will not next time. Great recipe, will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPolencheck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
Excellant flavor and healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGOKIDD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
Really good! To make it more like jambalaya I've added shredded chicken or turkey in addition to the sausage. Made it with fish once and didn't care for it, but husband did. This is now a staple in our house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I make this meal for my family all the time, and we love it! Because I don't like spicy food, I make a few substitutions: 1. smoked sausage for the hot turkey sausage 2. Mexican-style diced tomatoes instead of the Italian style 3. 2 teaspoons Italian seasoning instead of the Cajun seasoning If I don't have Mexican-style diced tomatoes, then I use the Italian-style tomatoes and just cut back on the Cajun seasoning. This is great comfort food, and it is also great for those times when your husband calls you on the way home from work to mention that he invited a friend for dinner. I can have it simmering by the time they arrive, and I always get compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Wonderful! I had this recipe for over a year before I tried it, and shame on me! I used lowfat Turkey sausage and I seasoned it much more than the recipe called for. My 8 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This was great! Even though I fudged some ingredients, like skipping the bay leaves, I found this to be a filling, flavorful dish. I think next time I'll try adding some Rotel mexican tomatoes for a good kick of spiciness. Like many other reviewers, I also found that the rice was done at after 30 minutes (not 40 as the recipes states).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This is a delicious, quick, and economical meal. I'd recommend it to anyone who doesn't want to spend a lot of time cooking during the work week. I had to adjust the amount of Cajun seasoning because the specified amount would have been too spicy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States