Turkey Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Delicious! Pretty quick, too. Of course, I ended up making a few changes, but the basics are the same. Rather than a can of stewed tomatoes, I used a can of diced, seasoned with basil, garlic, and oregano. Doubled the tomato sauce because I just wanted to use the whole can. I'm glad I did, because even with the extra tomato sauce I couldn't use all of the pasta I cooked, it would have been too dry. I guess I used about 2/3 of the 16 oz box that I cooked. No big deal there. I also cooked chopped onion with the turkey. As the sauce cooked, I sprinkled all kinds of spices in...it was a bit bland for our tastes without it. I added seasoned salt, paprika, red pepper, italian seasoning, extra basil, and a bunch of chili powder. So, so good, I've been thinking about the leftovers all evening. Not a fancy meal, but wonderful and filling. Thank You! (Would have been great with a salad, as suggested)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tappahannock, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
At our house we like spicy. To rev up this recipe I added 1/4 chopped white onion, 1/4 chopped green pepper, 1-2 chopped cloves garlic and 1 tsp. of crushed red pepper to the ground turkey before browning. This ensures the flavors will get cooked into the meat. I stuck to the original recipe to finish out the dish, but added more basil than suggested. This is a regular in our house now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOOBALOU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Oh I liked this ALOT. The kids went back for seconds. I would love to give this 5 stars but the recipe is far to bland...Things I did different... I added some paprika, chilli powder and italian seasonings along with some salt and pepper. I also ended up using a whole 10 oz can of tomato sauce which is more than 1 cup(what the recipe calls for). I finished off the leftovers for lunch this afternoon and it tasted just as good as it did last night for dinner. Thanks I will definately make this again with of course my added spices of preference!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2001
This is a good recipe. I added spicy chopped tomatoes and mushrooms. My husband claims it is a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I spiced up the turkey by adding onions, garlic & italian seasoning to it while it browned. I didnt use the sugar or the basil when adding sauce. I used canned already seasoned diced tomatoes (instead of stewed)& a can of seasoned tomato sauce. This was VERY easy & turned out great. My husband didnt even mind that I used Turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2000
Delicious! My husband and I cannot eat red meat and he always complained that I could not make goulash like his mother's. We both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
very good as written but needed a kick, so with a dash of this and a pinch of this...it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnchandler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I had used chicken cut into small bits instead, but other than that, I stuck closely with the recipe. But unfortunately, it turned out really bland... Not something I would make again... :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
Not bad, easy to make and very quick, but rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I was pleasantly surprised by this dish. I was in need of something relatively quick with ingredients I had on hand, which was minimal because I really need to go grocery shopping. I cut the ground turkey and pasta in half since I was the only one eating, but kept everything else the same. Used italian diced tomatoes (they are already seasoned with garlic, basil, and oregano), added some crushed red pepper and ground black pepper, and added a can of mushrooms. Also used rotini instead since that is what I had. Very good, will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Turkey Veggie Meatloaf Cups

These adorably delicious mini-meatloaves are made in cupcake tins.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States