Turkey Garbanzo Bean and Kale Soup with Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
The flavour is good, but whoa nelly, the pasta pushes the soup over the edge (in terms of heartiness)! I would use less pasta or perhaps none at all. I also threw in some chopped cilantro and a few tbsp of cooked lentils that I had left over from another dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Delicious, esp. with the fresh herbs. Instead of the pasta I added cooked quinoa for a little extra protein and whole grain nutrition - excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This is a delicious soup that's comforting on a chilly night and super easy to prepare. I used leftover T-giving turkey, veg broth (it's what I always have on hand), and leftover pumpkin puree instead of tomato paste (I thought it would go better with the rosemary and sage). I also omitted the pasta. The only thing I'd change in the future is to add more kale. This will be my go-to turkey soup recipe during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Great soup. I decided to put in a cup of dry quinoa instead of using pasta, and simmered until the quinoa is done. This made it nice and thick and stewy. I also used a lot of extra garlic (whole cloves) and hot sauce because I just do that with everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phinneas Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This soup is delicious! The fresh herbs and kale make the soup really stand out from others. I would not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah Banana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was very good and easy to make. The one thing I will change is to make only 6 to 8 ounces of pasta; 16 ounces of pasta is WAAAY too much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I really liked the ingredients. Followed the best I could with what I had on hand. Used homemade chicken broth which changed the flavor quite a bit. Next time I think I'd prefer white beans instead of the garbanzo. The kind I used had a really rough unappealing texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandysue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I tried out several soup recipes this winter and this one quickly became my favorite. It's hearty and flavorful...perfect on a cold day with some crusty warm bread. I subbed the 3/4 water with more chicken broth. I also cooked the pasta separate and added in just before serving. If you have leftovers you'll probably want to keep the pasta entirely separate so you don't have that mushiness a day or so later. Thanks Liana for sharing. It will be first on my list to make next winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Very hearty and tasty. Made this after learning that Kale holds it's texture in soups and stews, and it did. I used ground buffalo rather than turkey because I had some in the freezer, but I'll be making it again today with turkey. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was great! Only change I made was to omit the 3/4 cup water (I liked the strong tomato taste from the paste mixed only with the broth). Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Louise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States