Turkey Garbanzo Bean and Kale Soup with Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I really liked the ingredients. Followed the best I could with what I had on hand. Used homemade chicken broth which changed the flavor quite a bit. Next time I think I'd prefer white beans instead of the garbanzo. The kind I used had a really rough unappealing texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandysue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I made this soup with black beans in place of the garbanzo beans and served it over brown rice instead of noodles. This is a very versatile recipe and would work great with types of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I liked this. It was quite different than what I'm used to. (My grandfather is full-blood Portuguese and he always made this for me growing up). His had no meat or pasta. It tastes enough like it that it brought back the good memories I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Love this! Great way to use up ground turkey soon to go bad. My husband accidentally put in white beans instead of garbanzo beans but it still tasted great. Followed the rest of the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Very good flavor with the fresh herbs. I thought the pasta was good. I also substituted canned turkey for the ground it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Delicious, esp. with the fresh herbs. Instead of the pasta I added cooked quinoa for a little extra protein and whole grain nutrition - excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Not bad. I didn't have ground turkey but it was still okay. I also used cheese tortellini pasta and left out one can of broth so it would be thicker. I like it, but bf wasn't so sure. I'm thinking it's maybe the sage he didn't like so much. He did eat most of his bowl, though, and other than that I think it's a pretty decent soup. As other reviewers mentioned, very hearty. I was full with just about a cup of soup and a small piece of bread. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This soup was fantastic. I really loved it. I love kale, so I've been trying to find good recipes for it. I was a little concerned about ground turkey, but it was great. The only differences I made was I used no pasta. I added garlic salt to the meat, more garlic than called for, and about 10 cups of kale. I just finished off my second big bowl and I will be making this all the time now. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
My husband and kids loved this soup. I used fresh spinach instead of kale. I added the spinach about 5 min. before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This is a delicious soup that's comforting on a chilly night and super easy to prepare. I used leftover T-giving turkey, veg broth (it's what I always have on hand), and leftover pumpkin puree instead of tomato paste (I thought it would go better with the rosemary and sage). I also omitted the pasta. The only thing I'd change in the future is to add more kale. This will be my go-to turkey soup recipe during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States