Turkey Garbanzo Bean and Kale Soup with Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Very good flavor with the fresh herbs. I thought the pasta was good. I also substituted canned turkey for the ground it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I was a little worried about all the ingredients in this soup. But it really does mingle tastes well. I followed the recipe almost to a T. The only thing I did different was to make 1/2 the pasta called for, cooked according to box and added to the soup just before serving. My family really enjoyed it as well. Plenty of leftovers for lunch the next day. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lcrouch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Excellent soup! Love the idea of fresh rosemary in this dish. Made a few changes. Definitely half the pasta. Way too much! Using leaner ground white turkey brings the total fat content down to 2 gm per serving. Used all broth (I actually used the liquid from the pasta and beans and added veggie boullion.) Needs at least 3 more cups and the entire (6oz.) can of tomato paste if you want soup. For more flavor added 1/2 tsp. of savory, a little less than 1/2 tsp. garlic pepper instead of black pepper and little crushed red pepper, maybe about 1/2 tsp. for a little heat. Wonderful flavor. Kids devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthNut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This is a delicious soup. I added carrots and celery along with the onion and garlic. I also added dried red pepper fakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as written. It was delicious. Since the pasta is added at serving you can use as much or little as you like. I have tried it both with and without the pasta. It was wonderful both ways. This can also be finished in the crock pot (and makes the house smell great as you walk in the door.) Do most of step two, then dump everything into the slow cooker for a few hours. Cook your pasta just before serving – or omit it entirely. We had just one little issue with it. How to put this delicately?…. If you are the sensitive type you might want to try a little beano® before….
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This is a delicious soup that's comforting on a chilly night and super easy to prepare. I used leftover T-giving turkey, veg broth (it's what I always have on hand), and leftover pumpkin puree instead of tomato paste (I thought it would go better with the rosemary and sage). I also omitted the pasta. The only thing I'd change in the future is to add more kale. This will be my go-to turkey soup recipe during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
My husband and kids loved this soup. I used fresh spinach instead of kale. I added the spinach about 5 min. before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This soup was fantastic. I really loved it. I love kale, so I've been trying to find good recipes for it. I was a little concerned about ground turkey, but it was great. The only differences I made was I used no pasta. I added garlic salt to the meat, more garlic than called for, and about 10 cups of kale. I just finished off my second big bowl and I will be making this all the time now. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Delicious, esp. with the fresh herbs. Instead of the pasta I added cooked quinoa for a little extra protein and whole grain nutrition - excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Love this! Great way to use up ground turkey soon to go bad. My husband accidentally put in white beans instead of garbanzo beans but it still tasted great. Followed the rest of the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States