Turkey Garbanzo Bean and Kale Soup with Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
The flavour is good, but whoa nelly, the pasta pushes the soup over the edge (in terms of heartiness)! I would use less pasta or perhaps none at all. I also threw in some chopped cilantro and a few tbsp of cooked lentils that I had left over from another dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Delicious, esp. with the fresh herbs. Instead of the pasta I added cooked quinoa for a little extra protein and whole grain nutrition - excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This is a delicious soup that's comforting on a chilly night and super easy to prepare. I used leftover T-giving turkey, veg broth (it's what I always have on hand), and leftover pumpkin puree instead of tomato paste (I thought it would go better with the rosemary and sage). I also omitted the pasta. The only thing I'd change in the future is to add more kale. This will be my go-to turkey soup recipe during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Great soup. I decided to put in a cup of dry quinoa instead of using pasta, and simmered until the quinoa is done. This made it nice and thick and stewy. I also used a lot of extra garlic (whole cloves) and hot sauce because I just do that with everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phinneas Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This soup is delicious! The fresh herbs and kale make the soup really stand out from others. I would not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah Banana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was very good and easy to make. The one thing I will change is to make only 6 to 8 ounces of pasta; 16 ounces of pasta is WAAAY too much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I really liked the ingredients. Followed the best I could with what I had on hand. Used homemade chicken broth which changed the flavor quite a bit. Next time I think I'd prefer white beans instead of the garbanzo. The kind I used had a really rough unappealing texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandysue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I tried out several soup recipes this winter and this one quickly became my favorite. It's hearty and flavorful...perfect on a cold day with some crusty warm bread. I subbed the 3/4 water with more chicken broth. I also cooked the pasta separate and added in just before serving. If you have leftovers you'll probably want to keep the pasta entirely separate so you don't have that mushiness a day or so later. Thanks Liana for sharing. It will be first on my list to make next winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Very hearty and tasty. Made this after learning that Kale holds it's texture in soups and stews, and it did. I used ground buffalo rather than turkey because I had some in the freezer, but I'll be making it again today with turkey. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was great! Only change I made was to omit the 3/4 cup water (I liked the strong tomato taste from the paste mixed only with the broth). Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Louise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States