Turkey Garbanzo Bean and Kale Soup with Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Excellent recipe, tastes great. Fortunately my local grocery had fresh sage and rosemary. I used brown rice instead of pasta, and only about a cup per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I will make this again; it was good. Like others suggested, I used less pasta (like 8oz maybe?). I added some carrots that I needed to use up to the sauté mixture of onions and garlic. Then browned the turkey with it. Didn't have fresh herbs so I used dried, which was fine. I added more garlic than called for and threw in some thyme, too. I think next time I will add some frozen butternut squash chunks; I think that would really add to the taste. I will also cut back on the pasta more, maybe not even add it (it doesn't need the added bulk, IMO). Definitely a great healthy and hearty winter soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is a delicious soup! Even my husband enjoyed it and he usually doesn't like beans in his soup. I altered it somewhat by substituting the ground turkey with chopped chicken left over from a take out rotisserie chicken added in the last few minutes with the kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SVENSKAFLIKA
Home Town: North Reading, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windham, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bake Until Golden
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Very filling for a soup. Realized too late that I was out of sage; subbed about 1 tsp each dried parsley & dried thyme. Cooked the pasta in the soup and added about 2 cups additional broth to make up for liquid absorbed. Leftovers will have soggy pasta but I'm sure they'll still taste wonderful. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I thought this was very good! Had to make a few changes because of reviews and what I had on hand. I used 1 1/2 lbs. ground turkey and did 5 cloves of garlic instead of 3 (big garlic fans here) I also used 1 tsp. dried sage and 2 tsp. dried rosemary (no fresh on hand), 32 oz. chicken broth (no water), 6 oz. tomato paste, and 4 cups (packed) kale. I wanted this to be a lot thicker than a soup which is why I did no water and a little less broth. I did cover it while it was simmering so I wouldn't lose as much liquid. I chose not to make it with noodles but would probably serve it with brown rice or quinoa next time. I can't wait to try this with fresh herbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This has become my favorite soup. It's so hearty and the fresh herbs give it amazing flavor! I used Ditalini "little thimbles" pasta and Better than Bullion chicken stock. It's super easy to make and always turns out well. All teenage daughter even asks me to make it. It's a regular in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bzmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This is one of my most favorite meals. Even my young children love it (ages 4 and 6). Who wuold have imaged I could get them to eat kale?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Absolutely awesome, hearty and healthy at the same time! Thanks for this, I use it regularly now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I added a can of diced tomatoes and a can of red kidney beans. I also used orzo, which I cooked separately then added after. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Very good, very healthy, very quick to make. I used kidney beans and added gluten free pasta. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States