Turkey Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I didn't have time to let it set for more than 30 minutes and I ran out of green peppers and didn't realize it until after I started it, but it still turned out pretty good. Also, I only used a little over a cup of turkey with approxiamately 1 teaspoon (I just dashed a bit on to barely darken the turkey and I eyeball the amount out so sorry if its off a bit) of regular soy sauce and a little black pepper at the end while frying it all together before the egg and lettuce. Served with and without taco shells. Next time, I'll have it soak longer, but not bad, even reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilladychief

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I used nappa instead of lettuce and dark meat instead of light....added sesame oil, a dash of rice vinegar and chili oil, scallions and peas. Used red pepper(sweet) instead of green. Very colorful and tasty. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This is surprisingly good. I did an ingredient search for turkey and lettuc and found this recipe. I didn't make the rice the night before. Instead, I made it a couple hours in advance and cooled it on a cookie sheet in the fridge. I swapped the green pepper and celery for peas and shredded carrots. Thanks for this new way to use leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This is an excellent recipe to use up leftover turkey! It is such a different taste than the traditional turkey dinner, that it is perfect when your tired of turkey. I used leftover dark meat, with two eggs, sesame oil, and just carrots, red onion and cabbage for the veggies(it's what I had on hand). My whole family loved it, and it was super easy to make! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillyhusky
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Very bland dish by the directions. Will experiment next time I make it and post again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I did alter this recipe to fit my time constraints and the ingredients I had on hand. I did not refrigerate anything overnight, I did not use lettuce and I used Basmati rice (white rice) instead of brown rice. It turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Air force wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tizzylizz
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Truly a fantastic way to use up left over turkey. I made a double batch, planning to have leftovers for lunch the next day....but, there wasn't any left. My kids LOVED it, gobbling it all up. I did use white rice (that is all I had) & used all the ingred. the recipe called for. In addition, this what I added: some seasame oil with the canola, frozen peas & green onions w/the egg & lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I really enjoyed this. Never had thought to put turkey in a fried rice. After making a big turkey breast last week, I thought this was perfect. I did a mishmash of things, but the biggest thing I took from this recipe was to make my rice in chicken broth - great idea. Other than that, I used two eggs, added a bit of sesame oil to the canola, added peas and a bit of ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairborn, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LBURDICK
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I made very similar without broth and sub'd out carrots & peas for veggeies listed. I made rice one day ahead and chilled in fridge to make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBURDICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This was really good, so good I added it to my real-life index card recipe file. I think it will be a staple because these are ingredients I often have on hand, and it's a great way to use leftover turkey (or chicken, I'm sure), and whatever vegetables you have. I didn't use celery but did use shredded cabbage and carrots. I cooked the vegetables for less time than was stated and left them still fairly crunchy. Next time, I will stir a little cayenne pepper into my oil before cooking for some heat. Also, if you don't want to use non-stick pans due to toxicity, you might want to beat then microwave your eggs in a glass bowl to keep from getting out a bunch of pots and pans. The recipe called for one egg, which I used, but next time I will use two. Oh, another thing, I used a "fake broth" from when I boiled some chicken breasts and veggies for my daughter instead of canned stock. Worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States