Turkey Frame Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I was looking for a recipe to use up 2 fresh turkey legs and found this one. I substituted potatoes for the turnip and parsnips, and used fresh green beans instead of frozen. It was a delicious soup and would definitely make this one again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jazzncatz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Everyone loved this but, it was a bit too brothy for my taste. Going to have to tweak it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RABBITTZOSO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azusa, California, USA
Living In: North Port, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Good strating pont. I use leeks in my stock instead of onions and you can taste the difference. I also used canned turkey broth but all of this is up to the individual cook. make it your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Wow!-5th time we made this. Great every time. We use the carcass from the rosemary roasted turkey recipe also from allrecipes. We use up to 2 gallons of bottled water in a 16qt pot because our carcass comes from a 25lb+ turkey cut in small pieces (use the neck-toss the giblets). We treat this as a double recipe. We always seem to have extra carrots and celery that we end up tossing so we have found that by tripling the ingredients except the parsley in the beginning really deepens the flavor. It gets strained in the beginning so the veggies are only used for the broth (save some carrots for the final Soup). Be VERY choosy when deciding what meat to use for the soup, the last thing you want is skin/gristle/fat/bone in your final soup. We cut it into 2" pieces when possible then shred it. Don't be shy when skimming the fat. We remove about 1/2" from the top when skimming the gelatinous gold broth. We found that using a large table spoon instead of a slotted worked best, easier to handle and picked out large chunks instead of breaking it up. For us the right amount of seasoning is about 1/4c of kosher salt (or 1/8c table salt) and 1/4c black pepper. We like it spicy so unless you want it with some zip you may want to cut back on the pepper. After adding the beans/peas we just turn off the heat. There is enough residual heat to warm them through, otherwise they get mushy. After all is said and done we end up with about 9-10qts of soup. Serve it on some whole grain pasta-Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I thought this had a nice flavor. I did add 1/3 cup brown rice during the last hour of cooking. I couldn't wait to eat it so I didn't put it overnight in the refrigerator. I didn't make it right at Thanksgiving as we already had so much food to eat. I put the carcass and some extra turkey in the freezer and made it for New Years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caitlin
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This was soooooooo good! Even my picky husband loved this vegetable soup. I followed the recipe exactley (no noodles needed), except I only let the broth refrigerate a couple of hours, instead of over night. I can't wait for next Thanksgiving, so I can make it with my leftover turkey again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hubbardston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Yummy this soup came out great... i just added a couple things... I made the stock like it said ...added 2 boulion cubes...and about a half of bottle of apple spiced wine...sooooo goood!! it just gives it this hint of sweet...savory....YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Tasty and easy way to finish all the yummy bits left on your turkey. I was a little off-put by the amount of garlic it called for, but went ahead and put the whole four cloves in. What a difference it made in the flavor of the stock! I didn't let my stock sit overnight, but instead let it stand on the stovetop and cool for 30 minutes - I found it to be plenty of time for the fat to separate. After successfully cooking my first turkey, this made for an easy meal the day after Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This soup tasted fine, but a bit bland. Most of the flavor came from the delicious turkey stock, but the finish on the recipe left much to be desired. Next time I would throw in some sage, or maybe cook some wild rice in with the stock to give it more body. Not bad at all, but certainly not great. On a positive note, I've never considered putting turnips or parsnips in a poultry soup, and they were GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Great tasting soup! I took another reviewers advice and substituted egg noodles for the red beans and added a small amount of onion, celery and white wine to the last step. I am not a big parsnip fan, however I really did like them in this soup. Very tasty and will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States