Turkey Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
As written I give this recipe a 3, but with a few changes I'd give it at least a 4. I like a lot more flavor in meat fillings that just plain roasted turkey, so I cooked a few chicken breasts in the crockpot with some salsa which helped the flavor a lot. To do this, put a bit of jarred salsa on the bottom, frozen breasts over that, and poured a bit more salsa on the top. About 14 oz. salsa total. Cooked on low for 6 hours, and shredded with a fork - the chicken was super moist and tender with a good flavor. I also like a lot more olives than called for in the recipe, so I tripled the amount. I find that the Old El Paso brand (medium spicy) is a national brand that has good flavor and works well in this recipes. For the most authentic taste don't precook the onions - just chop them finely. Definitely serve with shredded (romaine or iceburg) lettuce, chopped tomatoes, sour cream, and avocado slices, if you've got them. It makes SUCH a difference. Thanks for the base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I agree with reviewer Mclean - good starter, needs to be spiced up. I added about a cup of salsa to a rice that I cooked separately ( Rice a Roni variety). I also added a can of pinto beans adopted from another recipe I've done. I added about half of the enchilada sauce to a cup of sour cream and then mixed in 1/2 my cheese to the meat/bean rice mixture. The other half of the enchilada sauce on the bottom of the pan (with 12 lg. corn tortilas I use 2 pans) and over the top of course with remaining cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
very tasty and easy to make, my family liked the change of venue for "leftovers"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oliver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
We varied by adding 4 or 5 green onions, 1 whole jalepeno and we used larger tortillas. We also added fresh avacado for extra fat and flavor. We skipped the cooking in oil and dipping in sauce steps. We made 8 STUFFED enchiladas and loved them. This makes a great left over dish as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I followed others advise and added a can ofchopped greeen chilies to the mix and also put a few jalapenos on top for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was really good as a base recipe. I used a 20 oz of sauce. I mixed the turkey in a pot with a package of taco seasoning, about 1/2 cup sour cream, cheese, and a can of medium hatch chiles. I didnt fry the corn tortillas in oil, just heated the enchilada sauce in a skilled and warmed them in the sauce before stuffing each one. Next time I may just layer it flat. Topped with the rest of enchilada sauce and cheese before baking, and sour cream before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This is a great idea for all that left over turkey. and my kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Randolph, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This was very tasty. But I did fudge with the recipe a little bit. I heated up the turkey with a jar of medium salsa and a couple Tablespoons of Cream of Onion Soup. I Sauteed onions with some fresh mushrooms add some red pepper and paprika then added it to the turkey. I used Green Chili Enchilada sauce and a shredded mexican cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Neubauer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rochford, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
These enchiladas were delicious! I omitted the olives and added some diced green chiles to liven it up a bit. I will definitely make these again with leftover turkey. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Excellent dish, It was quick, easy and most delicious! I made spanish rice with mexican corn for a complete meal. Thank you Marta! Next time I think I'll try it with flour tortillas as another reviewer said he did :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mortegirls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Turkey Tetrazzini

Learn how to make delicious, creamy tetrazzini with leftover turkey meat.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States