Turkey Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I learned a very valuable lesson when I made this. Actually read the reviews. It's just really disappointing when the reviews are so high but everyone adds things to make it better. I made this exactly the way it was said and I was not pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This is an great way to use leftover turkey! To speed things up, I used canned chicken broth.I also added some frozen mixed veggies and a dash of garlic powder for flavor. A+!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This is the perfect comfort food! I added some chopped carrots, onions, celery, garlic and herbs for more flavor, but I think it would have been good as written. I've seen several recipes with biscuit dumplings and I was really skeptical about them, but they were really good! Thanks for this easy and yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
My husband said this was good and had a nice flavor, 4/5 stars. I cut it in half for an easy and quick supper for those nights when you need one. It went great with Carrots Augratin, available on this site. My son was expecting carrots, celery, in the turkey/gravy along with "home-made" drop-type dumplings like he's had before. Thanks Joan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Wow! What a great recipe for leftover turkey or chicken. I used a 14oz can of Swanson's Seasoned Broth - Roasted Garlic and 1 cup + 4 tablespoons of water to make the 3 cups of liquid. Added great flavor and you didn't need to cook it as long. Also I used Pillbury Grands Biscuits. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Frankfort, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I gave this three stars because we did have to alter this recipe during preparation. However, we really enjoyed the end result and will make this again. I kept chicken broth handy to add to the pot as I noticed during the simmering process of the turkey that not much liquid was present and I feared I would not be able to add the dumplings. Also, I used 1/2 water and 1/2 chicken broth to start (following the others advice). Last, I followed the bisquick recipe for dumplings (mix and milk). I love dumpling recipes, and this was a nice and easy favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
If you want more traditional dumplings with out the time spent mixing and rolling, use the pillsbury ready made pie crust. You will find it with the biscuits. The box has two crusts in it. I immediatly open and unroll them while the chicken/turkey cooks in canned broth and water. while still cold spread a small amount of flour on the and slice into squares then drop once chicken is done and you have pulled it out and shredded. add chicken back to pot once the dumplings have started cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Good comfort food! I did,however,had to keep adding turkey stock to the pot for fear of it drying out.Great way to use the leftover turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCELI6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This was awesome! Also very Simple. I was tired of having the same ol' meat all the time so while at Wal-Mart I picked up in the meat Section Hormell Turkey with Gravy.. Added some chicken Both in place of some of the water and added a little bit of Gravy from the Turkey pack. I also added some Green Beans and Carrots It Turned out GREAT! This is a Keeper for sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandalynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
i obviously did something wrong but don't know what. the biscuits turned soggy and then into mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States