Turkey Dressing Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This is an excellent bread. Cube it up a little larger than the cubes you buy in a bag and you'll never have better dressing! Also makes a wonderful bread for the leftover Thanksgiving turkey sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIMCRAFT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
My intent in making this was for sandwiches for hub's lunch but at the rate I'm eating this it won't last long. Yep, it's that good. I didn't have celery seed so I tried to compensate with a little fresh, minced celery leaves. Also added maybe 1-1/2 tsp. of fresh, minced sage along with the rubbed sage called for. Other than that I made no other substitutions or additions. What I got was a bread so fragrant it left me hungry for it before it was even done baking, and I cut into it immediately after it came out of the oven! It is lightly, but perfectly, seasoned and has a little rustic heartiness about it because of the cornmeal. It's a light brown in color, moist but not TOO moist and enough density and heft to take it seriously! I suppose, however, that how the texture turns out can be largely determined by bread machine, humidity, amount and type of yeast, etc. I used active dry yeast where I normally use quick-rise and I did notice a difference from other breads I've made. I actually think I prefer the active dry - it doesn't overrise as the quick-rise tends to for me. Very similar to another bread on this site, I know hubs is gonna love this and I'll be making it often. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I made this a while ago and I guess forgot to rate it. Anyway, it's an easy and delicious bread. I like the flavor--really does taste like stuffing. I made in my bread machine as directed and actually let it do it's entire thing; usually I take it out and bake it in the oven. Either the recipe didn't say or I didn't look for the crust setting. I did medium crust and in my bread machine that makes the crust a bit too tough on this bread. It was hard to cut! But otherwise it was delish. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
When I made this as a 1lb loaf 2/3 cup milk was clearly not enough. I used 3/4 cup and this was very close as I added about 2 tsp more during mixing. This baked a very nice loaf, although it did over rise slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Brown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Yummy. Took some tips from previous reviewers and subbed honey for sugar and upped the amounts of the seasonings, particularly the poultry seasoning. Also subbed a garlic/herb olive oil for the butter. Baked in oven once dough cycle was done. Hard crust, yielding to a soft chewy dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I would recomend this bread for people that like bread with other stuff in it like nuts and grains and herbs. I personally like white bread and never buy even wheat bread so that is why i have rated this 3 stars. I don't think the recipe is bad. I think it is a matter of personal taste for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Seriously delicious and so fragrant! I subbed WW pastry flour for 1/2 cup of the flour, used honey in place of the sugar, not as much salt, and I forgot the egg! Had to cut a piece & butter it fresh from the oven--yum! This should be awesome on a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
oops! Rated wrong recipe...Made *Stuffing Bread* not this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I was very pleased with this bread. I served it fresh from the breadmaker with corned beef and cabbage. We used the bread without butter to mop up the broth from the corned beef. Very tasty indeed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
oh wow. SO good. i upped the spices a bit, as i'm a big fan of extra flavor (especially sage)... but otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. my family loved this on thanksgiving... and i'm making it again for christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States