Turkey Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
I wish there were more than five stars to rate this recipe accordingly! I'm a big fan of casseroles, so this one really takes the cake in my book. Not only was it DELICIOUS and easy to make, but it helped me to use up almost all of my Thanksgiving leftovers. Another honorable mention is the fact that my *usually* picky husband LOVED it. I made the recipe more efficient for myself by using instant mashed potatoes combined with my leftover "real" ones, added in my sausage dressing leftovers with the Stovetop Stuffing that I mixed up, and combined my dripping gravy with a pre-made jar. I also added some fresh sage into the layers of potatoes and the gravy. Now, rather than dealing with several containers in my fridge and wondering whether they'll be eaten or spoil first, I need only reach for this one yummy dish. Thanks so much, Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELAGH420

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I didn't even bother with the mash potato step as I had leftover mashed potatoes in the fridge! I just layered the casserole like the instructions stated (with the leftover cold ingredients) and baked. I served this with other leftover vegetable sides and extra gravy. Excellent way to make a quick dinner after a long day at work for a ravenous family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Why not go all out? Throw in a thin layer of leftover cranberry sauce (jelly or berry) between the turkey and potato topping (I had about 2/3 cups and put mine on top of the gravy), it was AMAZING! Recipe is excellent just as it is, but adding the cranberry made it extraordinary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
My husband ate half of this for dinner. I made it with Tone's instant turkey gravy mix, homemade mashed potatoes, Thanksgiving turkey and Brownberry sage and onion stuffing mix - made with chicken broth and butter. Very good I'll make it again. I think he liked it better than Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I found this recipe excellent. I made no changes and we all loved it. If some people found it bland maybe they should change their gravy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
This was just OK. I used Heinz turkey gravy from the jar. It tasted really bland for some reason, which surprised me since Stove Top stuffing is not bland. My son (8) ate his portion, but my daughter (6) refused to eat hers due to everything being layered. It would probably taste better with some additional spice but I don't know if I'll try this recipe again to find out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Every time I cook a chicken or turkey, I make this with the leftovers. I have not met a single person who hasn't loved this the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
AWESOME! I will never worry about getting all the food ready & hot at the same time again! I took this as a "side-dish" since we were going to a rustic cabin for Thanksgiving. It was a HIT! I used boxed everything: Turkey stovetop, potato buds, canned gravy. I did cook a turkey a couple days before & used the meat from that. Made two pans: One for us & one for my husbands office. You scoop out what you want and pop it in the microwave. So easy. I'm making it again for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
quick a little bland but good. I would add more spices next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Simple and scrumptious! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great! 3 of my 5 kids wanted more. My husband, who isn't crazy about casseroles, said it was pretty good. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States