Turkey Cream Cheese Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This recipe is excellent. I made a few changes however to suit my tastes. Instead of the ground chipotle and ancho chilli powder I used 2 tbsp of pureed chipotle chilli's in adobo sauce. Instead of paprika I used 1 1/2 tsp chilli powder. I put two cups of the cheese in with the turkey meat mixture, but the last half cup for over top. Also when you fry the corn tortillas, use one or two tbsp of oil at a time. You don't need a lot of oil to soften corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
We had a huge turkey dinner on Saturday and had plenty of left-over turkey. So, I searched this site and found this recipe. Yummy! It then ended up I babysat our Mexican friend's 3 children. So the 8 year old wanted to help me cook dinner. This recipe does take some work so it was nice to have the extra hands for stirring, etc. She also taught me how to roll a "mean" enchilada in no time!! I didn't have yellow or orange peppers but it was still awesome. We will eat these again. We topped them with more sour cream and salsa. I did not heat the tortillas in oil, we just popped them in the microwave for a minute to save time. All I can say is everyone loved these - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Seasonings and creaminess perfectly complement the turkey flavor. I didn't have chipotle or ancho powders so I subbed a chopped chipotle in adobo and there was appropriate heat and flavor, I think. Will make again with chicken leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
i love it. only suggestion is to skip the frying of the tortillas. its fine to microwave them with a damp hand towel on top. takes about 3 minutes for 24 tortillas. the first few on the top may not be great but the ones underneath are pliable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Very Good! I Left out the Chile peppers and exchanged it for a jalapeno pepper (seeded).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Don't let tje LARGE number of ingredients intimidate you. It's not difficult at all. This is a great dish for left over turkey. Everyone loved it. Of course it is not low calorie in anyway, but it's a nice dish for a special occassion. I have also made this with chicken breast. I did not fry the shells either. I didn't have the 2 types of chilli pepper. I just used traditional. I didn't use the 3 coloered peppers either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Unbelievably good. I omitted the cumin and doubled up on the onions, Chipolte and ancho chile peppers. By far the very best Enchilada I have ever eaten. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
my family loved these made with chicken. going to attempt these with soy chicken strips so I can give them a go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarlei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This was very tasty and very rich! Love the cumin flavor, and just the right amount of heat from the chipotle/ancho spice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myst

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
We really liked the filling on these enchiladas! I did think it could have used a little more spiciness to it, but hubby was just fine with that. I used flour tortillas because that's what I had on hand, and I didn't have a green pepper. I did have some diced green chilis handy, so I added that to the filling. I wanted a little more "stuff" on the top of these. I don't think the use of all three -- the cream cheese, sour cream, and heavy cream -- was totally necessary, so if you were short of one you could make it up with the other two. All in all, served with a little salsa on the side, these made a very satisfying meal! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States