Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I can't believe I haven't rated this yet, since I've made it four times! (Anyone who only likes "meat and bean" chilis... find another recipe, please!) I leave the zucchini and summer squash in big chunks, use half broth / half beer in place of the plain water, and simmer this is the crock pot all day. The kids eat it up topped with shredded cheese and with scoop-style tortilla chips. I've even eaten this chili cold the next day - it is SO DELICIOUS! This is a 10-star chili, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Absolutely wonderful! I've made this twice and it taste even better the next day. I added extra corn and poured it over Fritos with lot's of cheese. I also suggest using seasoned tomatoes for extra flavor like mexican style. This recipe will get you compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
I made this without the zucchini and the squash and it was still really good. I didn't have time for the crockpot, so I just let it simmer on the stove for awhile. I'm sure if this simmered in the crockpot all day it would have been more flavorfull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
The is a fabulous recipe with a few additions to taste. substituting a beer and chicken broth for the water is a great idea of one reviewer. then add a chicken bouillon cube, 1 tsp each of poultry seasoning, cayenne, oregano, cumin, a clove of minced garlic and ground pepper to taste. Dynamite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
I made this both as a vegetarian version (for guests) and non-vegetarian (with turkey). Both were excellent. Changes I made were: added a beer and broth (vegetable or chicken, depending on verison) for liquid instead of water and boullian. Added garlic and several spices, about a teaspoon of cumin, oregano, and cayenne pepper, and 1/4 tsp of white pepper. Finally, put in a small head of broccoli, chopped, which added a little texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Nanjing, Jiangsu Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
This was so good! I may a huge pot- and it was loved by all my friends. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
The only vegetables in this recipe that I had on hand that I used was the zucchini, and still could've done without them, according to my husband. Great recipe, but without the vegetables! Thank you!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This was yummy - after I made some changes. I did not use the carrots, peppers, zucchini or squash.. my family likes their chile with bean and meat. I used a can of Rotel (toms and chiles) instead of diced toms. I also poured in a can of chicken broth and 1/2 water instead of 3 cups of water. Once everything was in crockpot I added garlic powder, poultry seasoning and salt in addition to the other spices. I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Burgart-Schrader

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Very good. The whole family liked it, even the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
This has become my favorite winter recipie. It is so filling and tasty. I use dried beans and rehydrate them over night. Then I throw everything in the slow cooker on low and come home to delicious chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States